Sun Belt Conference announces football broadcast team - KAIT Jonesboro, AR - Region 8 News, weather, sports

Sun Belt Conference announces football broadcast team

From the Sun Belt Conference

The Sun Belt Conference announced Monday that Joe Davis, Cole Cubelic and Erin Cofiell will serve as the broadcast team for the Sun Belt Network's upcoming football television package.

Davis will be on play-by-play duty in the booth this season – his first with the Sun Belt Conference. Davis is in his second season as the voice of the Tampa Bay Rays Double-A Affiliate, the Montgomery Biscuits.

A native of Potterville, Mich., Davis previously worked for IMG College as a studio host for the Baylor Bears Sports Network and as fill-in play-by-play for Troy, Auburn and UAB athletics. His TV credits include play-by-play for the NCAA D-III football and basketball national tournaments, college baseball on CSS, and high school state championship events in both Alabama and Illinois. He got his start in baseball with the Schaumburg Flyers in suburban Chicago.

Back for his second season as color analyst on the Sun Belt Network is Cubelic. Cubelic, a former standout at Auburn, currently is the co-host of the "Cubelic & the Kid" weekday mornings on 97.7 WZZN in Huntsville, AL.

At center for the Tigers, Cubelic started 20 games and appeared in 38 despite four surgeries while at Auburn. Cole was named a permanent captain of the 2000 team under head coach Tommy Tuberville and voted to the SEC Good WorksTeam as well.

On the sidelines will be Cofiell who recently relocated back to Baton Rouge after spending a year at WJAR in Providence, RI. There she covered Providence College and the New England Patriots.

No stranger to Louisiana Cofiell, spent two and a half years at WAFB in Baton Rouge. While there, she did a segment called "Darin' Erin", challenging local athletes at their given talent. She was also a fill in host for Sportsline Friday Nite, a weekly highlight show.

This is the third football season of the Sun Belt Network. The Sun Belt Conference entered into partnership with regional sport network partners Comcast Sports Southeast (CSS) and Cox Sports Television (CST) in the summer of 2009 to form the Sun Belt Network for regional conference television broadcasts.

"We are pleased to continue our partnership with the Sun Belt Conference again for the 2011 season", said Mark Fuhrman, General Manager for CSS. "CSS strives to provide our viewers the very best in collegiate sports in the south and the Sun Belt is an integral part of that strategy."

The Sun Belt Network will televise 45 events during the 2011-12 academic year. This includes the sports Men's Basketball, Women's Basketball, Softball and Baseball.

 

2011 Sun Belt Network TV schedule

Sept. 24 - Middle Tennessee at Troy - 4:30 ET/3:30 CT

Oct. 1 - Arkansas State at Western Kentucky - 4:00 ET/3:00 CT

Oct. 8 - Florida Atlantic at North Texas - 7:30ET/6:30 CT

Oct. 15 - Louisiana-Monroe at Troy - TBA

Oct. 22 - MTSU at FAU - 8:00 ET/7:00 CT

Oct. 29 - Louisiana-Lafayette at Middle Tennessee - 7:30 ET/6:30 CT

Nov. 5 - Louisiana-Monroe at Louisiana-Lafayette - 3:30 ET/2:30 CT***

Nov. 12 - Wildcard $ - 1:00 ET/12:00 CT

Nov. 19 - Wildcard $ - TBA

Nov. 26 - Wildcard $ - 7:30 ET/6:30 CT

Dec. 3 - Wildcard $ - 4:30 ET/3:30 CT

 

***This game will be available in Monroe, Shreveport and Jackson, MS markets on an alternate channel through Comcast Cable. CSS, Comcast Cable and the Sun Belt Conference will advise of local channel information prior to game day in these markets.

 

$ - wildcard games will be selected 12 days out from the game date.

Powered by Frankly