SEMO's Drew Geldbach named to CFPA Preseason Watch List


Throughout the summer the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) have been releasing preseason watch lists for players in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS). The list highlights players whose performance mertis recognition heading into the 2011 season.

The purpose of the CFPA is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. Furthermore, CFPA is the only awards organization to receive praise from both Republican and Democratic White House officials for promoting objectivity and fairness in college football.

The watch lists included the following categories: quarterback, running back, wide receiver, defensive line, linebacker, defensive back, placekicker, punter, kickoff returner and punt returner.

Previously the lists involving offensive and defensive positions were released and the lists include nine total offensive and seven total defensive players from the Ohio Valley Conference.

The specialists list included 14 total OVC players named as a kicker, punter, kick returner or punt returner.

Four kickers were named to the list including Austin Peay's Stephen Stansell, Eastern Illinois' Cameron Berra, Southeast Missouri's Drew Geldbach and UT Martin's Cody Sandlin.

Eastern Kentucky punter Jordan Berry was one of four OVC punters named to the list that also included Murray State's Kienan Cullen, Tennessee Tech's Nick Campbell and UT Martin's Joe Hook.

The three kick returners on the list were Eastern Kentucky's Jeremy Caldwell, Jacksonville State's Alan Bonner and UT Martin's AJ Williams.

Caldwell and Bonner were also repeat selections and were named to the punt returner list as well. They were joined on that list by Murray State's Dontrell Johnson, Tennessee State's Julian Mallory and UT Martin's CJ Estelle.

OVC Players on CFPA Specialist Lists

K - Stephen Stansell, Austin Peay

K - Cameron Berra, Eastern Illinois

K - Drew Geldbach, Southeast Missouri

K - Cody Sandlin, UT Martin

P - Jordan Berry, Eastern Kentucky

P - Kienan Cullen, Murray State

P - Nick Campbell, Tennessee Tech

P - Joe Hook, UT Martin

KR/PR - Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky (both lists)

KR/PR - Alan Bonner, Jacksonville State (both lists)

KR - AJ Williams, UT Martin

PR - Dontrell Johnson, Murray State

PR - Julian Mallory, Tennessee State

PR - CJ Estelle, UT Martin