Joe Adams named to Hornung Award watch list

FAYETTEVILLE (UofA) - Arkansas senior wide receiver Joe Adams has been selected to the watch list for the 2011 Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, it was announced Monday.

The Paul Hornung Award is given annually by the Louisville Sports Commission to the most versatile player in major college football. In 2010, Adams led the Razorbacks with a career-high 813 receiving yards and tied for the team lead with six receiving touchdowns while also returning 16 punts for 249 yards and one touchdown.

Adams has made at least one reception in all 34 games in his career, the longest active streak in the SEC and the fifth longest in the NCAA entering the 2011 season. In 2010, the Little Rock, Ark., native ranked second on the team with a career-high 50 receptions, which tied for the ninth-highest single-season total in school history. Adams ranked second in the SEC and tied for 28th in the NCAA with an average of 15.2 yards per play.

Adams finished the 2010 season ranked sixth in the SEC with 4.2 receptions per game and seventh in the conference with 67.8 receiving yards per game. His three 100-yard receiving games tied for fifth in the SEC and tied for the fifth-highest single-season total in school history. He tied for seventh in the NCAA with 32 receptions against ranked opponents and was 11th in the country with 403 receiving yards against ranked foes. His 23 receptions of at least 15 yards tied for fifth in the SEC.

Last season, Adams also ranked second in the SEC and fifth in the NCAA with an average of 15.56 yards per punt return, the seventh-highest single-season average in school history. He broke the Arkansas record for longest punt return for a touchdown when he returned a punt 97 yards for a score, tied for the fifth-longest punt return in SEC history, in the Razorbacks' 38-24 victory vs. Ole Miss. The score was his first career punt return for a touchdown and bettered the previous record of 95 yards set by Ken Hatfield in 1963.

The Paul Hornung Award was created in 2010 with the support of Hornung, who is a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. He is considered one of the most versatile players in the history of football. He won the 1956 Heisman Trophy and was the No. 1 overall pick in the 1957 NFL Draft. Stanford fullback/linebacker Owen Marecic won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award last season.