Razorback Seat Value Plan to be recognized in Saturday's "A" Walk

FAYETTEVILLE (UofA) – Seven representatives, on behalf of all Razorback Foundation members who helped "Answer the Call" and make the Razorback Seat Value Plan (R.S.V.P.) a resounding success, will participate in the "A" Walk of Honor on Saturday prior to Arkansas' football game against Missouri State at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium.

"It is only fitting that we honor the contributions of the nearly 13,000 Razorback Foundation members who stepped forward to raise the annual support of our program through R.S.V.P.," Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. "The overwhelming response of our fans and the tremendous success of R.S.V.P. will be instrumental in providing vital funding for the future success of more than 460 Razorback student-athletes competing in 19 sports. We are grateful to all of those who participated in R.S.V.P. and who continue to support Razorback Athletics."

The seven representatives participating are from various membership levels within the Razorback Foundation. All of those taking part in the ceremony on Saturday either joined the Razorback Foundation as part of R.S.V.P. or increased their pledge as part of the program. Those representatives scheduled to take part in the "A" Walk are Angelo Coppola, Audie Dennis, Mel Redman, J.J. Hurley, Kathy Stone, Raffy Quimbo and Brandon White.

More than 2,680 new Razorback Foundation members and an additional $6.5 million to support University of Arkansas student-athletes competing in 19 sports were generated as part of the Razorback Seat Value Plan (R.S.V.P). The 18-month program succeeded in helping increase overall Razorback Foundation membership by 20 percent and raising annual support of Razorbacks Athletics through the foundation to more than $18 million.

R.S.V.P. was the first phase of Answer the Call, a decade-long comprehensive fundraising initiative announced last August. The updated seat equity plan for home football games at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium and War Memorial Stadium was designed to enhance the athletic program's annual financial support providing Razorback Athletics with additional resources to compete amid increasing scholarship, facility and operational costs.

"Running through the A" is one of the Razorbacks' most storied football traditions. While "Running through the A" is a tradition reserved only for members of the Razorback football team, Razorback Athletics created a program to honor those individuals or groups who have played a significant role in the support of Razorback Athletics. Honorees are invited to participate in this unique pre-game experience and are recognized on the video board and over the public address system as they walk through the "A" formed by the Razorback Marching Band. After completing the walk, honorees help complete the "A" before welcoming Coach Bobby Petrino and the Arkansas Razorback football team on the field just prior to kickoff.

Previous honorees have included members of the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation, legendary Arkansas coach and athletic director Frank Broyles, the Willard and Pat Walker family and Jim Lindsey.

Honorees will also be inducted into the "A" Walk of Honor Hall of Fame, as part of the new football center. The official groundbreaking for the football center is set for Nov. 4, a day before Arkansas hosts South Carolina in football at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium in Fayetteville. For more information regarding Razorback Football or University of Arkansas athletics, please visit ArkansasRazorbacks.com.