Sun Belt Conference institutions to commemorate September 11

Six Sun Belt Conference member institutions hosting home football games on Saturday, September 10 will join to commemorate the tenth anniversary of the September 11 attacks.

From the Sun Belt Conference

Arkansas State, Louisiana-Monroe, Middle Tennessee, North Texas, South Alabama and Western Kentucky are all scheduled to host home games this upcoming Saturday. Each school will participate in a moment of silence and a special recognition of first responders. Throughout these home games a total of 3,000 American flags will also be given to fans.

Some institutions will also have added ceremonies in remembrance as Arkansas State and Western Kentucky are planning flyovers. Additional ceremonies are taking place throughout the league.

"It is so great to see our member institutions join together to honor those who lost their lives and those who responded to the attacks on this tragic day ten years ago," said Sun Belt Conference Assistant Commissioner Robin Bordelon. "The Sun Belt Conference is truly united in remembrance."