Two local doctors recipients of 3rd annual scholarship

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) - The third annual Dr. John Williams Chief Resident Scholarship took place Wednesday afternoon.

Co-Chief residents, Brian Baltz M.D. and Amanda Deel, D.O were the recipients of the award.

Friends of Dr. John Williams worked to raise the funds to endow a scholarship in his name. Dr. Baltz says he hopes to honor Williams' legacy with the award.

"I did not know John personally, but the things I've heard about him, he was an excellent guy. He was a very good leader of the program and it makes me feel privileged to be chosen for this," Baltz said.

Both Baltz and Deel say they are honored by the recognition.

Copyright 2011 KAIT. All Rights Reserved.