Four SeMo Counties Eligible for Agri Disaster Loans

December 18, 2003 - Posted at 7:45 a.m. CDT

BLOOMFIELD, MO - Four southeast Missouri counties are designated agricultural disaster areas due to heavy spring rains.

The federal Department of Agriculture determination means eligible producers can qualify for low- interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency.

Dunklin, New Madrid, Pemiscot and Stoddard counties were designated as primary disaster areas.  Six nearby counties also are eligible because they are contiguous.  They are Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Mississippi, Scott and Wayne counties.

(Copyright 2003 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)