Harding Men's Soccer invited to join MIAA

From Harding University

The MIAA has announced that it will add men's soccer as a conference sport, effective with the 2012 fall season. Fort Hays State University, Lindenwood University, Northeastern State University, Southwest Baptist University and Truman State University will all field men's soccer teams in 2012.

Additionally the MIAA announced that is has extended invitations to Harding University, Southern Nazarene University and Upper Iowa University to begin the process to become Associate Members of the MIAA for the purpose of playing men's soccer in the MIAA. Harding recently completed its final season in the Gulf South Conference.

"I am pleased that or membership has endorsed and approved men's soccer as a championship sport." stated Dr. Bob Boerigter Commissioner of the MIAA. "In addition, we believe the inclusion of these three schools will not only add competitive opportunities for our schools but also quality Division II in-region competition."

Dr. Boerigter stated he expects the Associate Membership process to be completed by early January.

Plans are being proposed for a modified round robin schedule, insuring all teams' ten games with a four team MIAA post-season tournament. All policies and procedures for the sport as well as the final schedule and tourney format will be presented to the CEO's for approval at their next meeting.

Harding University and Southern Nazarene University are members of the Great American Conference and Upper Iowa University is a member of the Northern Sun Intercollege Conference. Neither of those leagues sponsors men's soccer as a conference sport. The GAC, NSIC and MIAA will all compete in the Central Region of NCAA Division II beginning in the fall of 2012.

The MIAA will sponsor 19 championship sports beginning in 2012-13: football, soccer, cross-country, indoor and outdoor track and field, basketball, wrestling, baseball, golf and tennis for men; volleyball, soccer, cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field, basketball, softball, tennis and golf for women.

The MIAA is a 15 school NCAA Division II conference that will be celebrating its 100th year in 2012. Members include: The University of Central Missouri, the University of Central Oklahoma, Emporia State University, Fort Hays State University, Lincoln University, Lindenwood University, Missouri Southern State University, Missouri Western State University, University of Nebraska Kearney, Northeastern State University, Northwest Missouri State University, Pittsburg State University, Southwest Baptist University, Truman State University and Washburn University.