2011 Academic All-Big 12 Football Team announced

From the Big 12 Conference

The Big 12 Conference has named 135 student-athletes to the 2011 Academic All-Big 12 Football Team, the league office announced.

Among those honored, Brian Blackwell (Kansas), Zach Nemecheck (Kansas State), Matt Hoch (Missouri), De'Vion Moore (Missouri), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma) and Jacob Russell (Texas A&M) were nominated with grade point averages of 4.00.

Texas notched the most overall selections with 23 total members. The Longhorns' 14 first team honorees paces five squads with double-digit first team distinctions. Baylor (10), Oklahoma (12), Missouri (11) and Kansas State (10) also recorded 10 or more members.

The Academic All-Big 12 Football Team includes 87 first team honorees and 48 second team members.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.

Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.