Harding's Garrett Taylor sixth in Super Region 4 Upshaw Award voting

From Harding University

Harding senior offensive guard Garrett Taylor finished sixth of 13 candidates in the voting for NCAA Division II Super Region 4 representatives for the Gene Upshaw Division II Lineman of the Year Award.

Only the top two finishers in the voting advance to the Gene Upshaw Award final ballot. The Super Region 4 representatives are Amini Silatolu of Midwestern State and Aston Whiteside of Abilene Christian.

Taylor, a native of Huntsville, Texas, was a 1st Team All-Great American Conference honoree and was Daktronics 2nd Team All-Super Region 4. He led Harding in knockout blocks and helped pave the way for Harding's No. 1-ranked rushing offense.

Taylor received 21 votes, including two of 20 first-place votes. Silatolu had 55 votes, and Whiteside tallied 45 votes.