State To Close as Many as Six Employment Security Offices in Region 8

February 10, 2004 - Posted at 7:12 a.m. CDT

LITTLE ROCK, AR - The Arkansas Department of Employment Security will no longer staff part-time offices at 21 locations in smaller cities throughout the state, including six communities in Region 8.

Unemployment insurance applications and forms to help unemployed find jobs still will be available at those locations.  But, operations will be consolidated so that the department will save about $90,000 per year.  The agency is receiving $1 million less in federal money than it did last year.

Offices at Ash Flat (Sharp County) and Salem (Fulton County) will no longer be staffed starting February 24.

The Augusta (Woodruff Co.), Brinkley (Monroe Co.), Melbourne (Izard Co.), and Mountain View (Stone Co.) locations will be affected starting February 25.

An announcement is expected later regarding the future of the ESD office in Wynne (Cross Co.).

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)