Nine Region 8 Communities Fighting to Save Revenue Offices

February 23, 2004 - Posted at 7:42 a.m. CDT

JONESBORO, AR - Some small Arkansas towns are taking donations to keep local revenue offices open after state officials announced they were closing the offices to save money.

The state plans to close 33 offices, mostly in rural areas, and merge nine urban offices into four with extended hours.

26 towns have agreed to pay all costs, except personnel and supplies, to keep the offices open, including nine communities in Region 8.  Those towns are; Cave City (Sharp Co.), Earle (Crittenden Co.), Imboden (Lawrence Co.), Lake City (Craighead Co.), Leachville (Mississippi Co.), Manila (Mississippi Co.), Mammoth Spring (Fulton Co.), Parkin (Cross Co.), and Rector (Clay Co.).

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)