Rivercrest alum Cortez Kennedy & Pine Bluff native Willie Roaf elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2012

INDIANAPOLIS (ProFootballHOF.com) - The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Selection Committee held its annual election meeting today and elected six individuals to the Class of 2012. Bringing the total number of members in the Hall of Fame to 273 are cornerback Jack Butler, center Dermontti Dawson, defensive end/linebacker Chris Doleman, defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy, running back Curtis Martin, and tackle Willie Roaf.

The annual selection meeting was held in Indianapolis, site of Super Bowl XLVI. The newest members of the Hall of Fame were selected from a list of 17 finalists who had been determined earlier by the Selection Committee.

Butler, a member of the NFL's All-Decade Team of the 1950s, intercepted 52 passes, four of which he returned for scores, in his nine-season career with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Dawson, a member of the NFL's All-Decade Team of the 1990s, was named to the Pro Bowl seven straight seasons and was an All-Pro selection six consecutive years. The NFL Alumni's Offensive Lineman of the Year in 1996, Dawson played in 184 career games for the Steelers.

Doleman racked up 150.5 career sacks in his 15-season career which ranked fourth all-time when he retired. He had 10 or more sacks in a season eight times.

Kennedy, the NFL's Defensive Player of the Year in 1992, earned eight Pro Bowl berths and was named first-team All-Pro three straight seasons. He was also named to the NFL's All-Decade Team of the 1990s.

Martin rushed for 1,000 yards in each of his first 10 NFL seasons. He retired as the game's fourth all-time leading rusher with 14,101 yards and had 90 rushing touchdowns.

Roaf, a seven-time, first-team All-NFL choice, starred for nine seasons with the New Orleans Saints and four years with the Kansas City Chiefs. In all, he played in 189 career games and was voted to 11 Pro Bowls.

The 2012 class will be formally enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, Aug. 4, 2012. The Enshrinement Ceremony takes place at Fawcett Stadium in Canton and will be televised live by both NFL Network and ESPN.

The annual NFL/Hall of Fame Game which kicks off the NFL's preseason will be played on Sunday, Aug. 5 and broadcast live by NBC. Teams have not yet been announced.

The Enshrinement Ceremony is the marquee event of the annual Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival which consists of 18 public events over an 11-day period.

Individual enshrinement tickets and Festival Fan & Travel Packages are on sale now.

Defensive Tackle … 6-3, 298 … Northwest Mississippi Community College; Miami (FL) … 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks … 11 playing seasons, 167 games … Seahawks 1st round draft pick (3rd player overall), 1990 NFL Draft … First Team All-America choice at Miami in 1989 … Extremely durable, played in 167 of possible 176 games … Injury ended streak of 116 straight games played and club record 100 consecutive games started … Named first-team All-Rookie by PFWA … Voted to a team-record eight Pro Bowls (1992-97, 1999, 2000) … Named first-team (1992, 1993, 1994) or second-team (1991, 1996) All-Pro five times … Named NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1992 while playing for a 2-14 team … That season led all interior linemen with 14 sacks and career best 92 tackles; had four forced fumbles; recovered fumble and batted down two passes … Recorded one of finest seasons in 1999 recording 73 tackles, 6.5 sacks, intercepting two passes, helping Seahawks reach playoffs for first time since 1988 … In all, registered 58 sacks, intercepted three passes and scored one touchdown on fumble recovery during career … He twice led the team in sacks (1992 and 1995) … Born August 23, 1968 in Osceola, Arkansas. BIO>>>

Tackle … 6-5, 300 … Louisiana Tech … 1993-2001 New Orleans Saints, 2002-05 Kansas City Chiefs … 13 seasons, 189 games … Selected by New Orleans in 1st round (8th player overall) of 1993 draft … First offensive lineman selected … Started all 16 games at right tackle, did not miss offensive snap during first season earning All-Rookie honors ... Following year switched to left tackle and was voted to first of 11 Pro Bowls, named first-team All-Pro, All-NFC, and NFLPA's NFC Offensive Lineman of the Year for first of two consecutive seasons ... Played nine seasons in New Orleans, starting 131 regular season games … Also started two playoff games including franchise's first-ever postseason win, a 31-28 victory over defending Super Bowl champion St. Louis Rams in 2000 NFC Wild Card Game … Knee injury shortened 2001 season to just seven games … Traded by the Saints to Chiefs in exchange for a third-round draft pick ... Rebounded from injury to regain form and earned All-Pro honors in three of four seasons with Chiefs … Was a key part of Kansas City's offensive line that helped Chiefs lead NFL in points scored in 2002, 2003 ... Team also led AFC in total yards in 2003 and NFL in 2004, 2005 … Was named first-team All-Pro seven times (1994-96, 2000, 2003-05), All-NFC six times, and All-AFC three times … A member of the NFL's All-Decade Team of the 1990s … Born April 18, 1970 in Pine Bluff, Arkansas. BIO>>>