Education Board to Get New List of Financially Distressed Schools Today

APRIL 12, 2004 - Posted at 7:25 a.m. CDT

LITTLE ROCK, AR - The state Board of Education is to receive a list of Arkansas school districts in financial distress today.  Each district will then have thirty days to argue to the state board that it is operating well.

Of the state's 308 districts, the ten affected include Augusta, Crossett, Earle, Greenland, Heber Springs, Jasper, Lakeside in Garland County, Lake View Ozark and St. Joe.  After the schools refute the designation, the state Education Board has sixty days to decide if the districts are in financial trouble.

(Copyright 2004 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)