Seven Facility Records Set By A-State At First-Ever Red Wolves Open

JONESBORO, Ark. (4/28/12) – The Arkansas State track & field teams set seven facility records at the first-ever collegiate meet held at the ASU Track & FieldComplex Saturday at the Red Wolves Open.

"We are extremely happy to have outdoor track & field back in Jonesboro, we had a good start and want to make this meet a tradition. It will grow next year. We are proud of our kids they had some great performances," said head coach James Patchell. "Everyone got to sleep in their own bed, it was an excellent meet to show us where we are going into the conference meet, we are pretty please."

Briar Becton won the men's 1500-meter race with a time of 4:11.94, while Solomon Williams won the men's 110-meter hurdles race with a time of 14.38. Joey Meyer set a facilities record in the men's 400-meter race with a time of 47.29, while Steven Armstrong finished third (49.55).

ASU also set facilities records in the men's and women's 4x400 relay races. In the women's race ASU finished first with a time of 3:52.23, while men's team won the race with a time of 3:14.56. The men's 4x100-meter relay team (Meyer, Williams, Whitfield and Stander) also finished first with a time of 41.44.

In the men's hammer throw Chris Nicasio won with a throw of 58.62, while Richard Chavez finished second with a toss of 53.94. Thomas Ligon won the men's javelin throw with a toss of 54.51, while William Oliver won the men's long jump with a jump of 7.50 meters.

In the women's hammer throw Julia Agawu set a facility record with a throw of 56.53, while Kim Ludick won the women's javelin with a throw of 34.98.

Sharika Nelvis set a facilities record in the 100-meter hurdles with a time of 13.43, while Kanesha Hicks finished third in the event (14.56). Nevlis also won the 100-meter dash with a time of 11.49. Allyson Perry finished second in the 400-meter hurdles with a time of 1:02.70.

Chelsea Weaver won the 1500-meter run with a time of 4:46.51 and she also won the women's steeplechase race with a time of 11:26.21. Tilda Helgesson finished second in the steeplechase with a time of 11:34.76. Kristina Aubert won the 3000-meter race with a time of 10:07.07, which was a facilities record. Sam Salinas finished second in therace (10:23.16) and Rexi Parcells finished third (10:34.66).

Arkansas State finished first through third in both the men's and women's shot put. Richard Chaves and Julia Agawu won their respective gender's shot put with distances of 16.65m and 14.03m, respectively. Kim Ludick was second on the women's side at 13.97, followed by Rachel Taylor at 13.09m. Tyler Lingo finished second on the men's side at 15.76m followed by Corwin Pace at 15.02m.

Agawu won the women's discus, setting a facility record at 50.89m. Taylor was second in the event at 42.83m. ASU took second through seventh in the men's discus led by Chris Nicasio who threw a 51.85m. Chavez as third at 51.05, followed by Tyler lingo at 46.55 in fourth, Thomas Ligon at 43.98 in fifth, Pace at 36.34 in sixth and William Oliver at 35.70 in seventh.

Competing unattached, Stephanie Foreman finished second in the pole vault at 3.60m. Solomon Williams was second for A-State in the triple jump at 14.93m.

Savannah Hutchins finished second in the women's high jump for A-State at 1.63m. Three ASU jumpers, LaKeitha Minter, Jessica Potter and Jessica Otto, were tied for third at 1.58m.