Arkansas and Missouri are new SEC rivals

DESTIN, FL ( - Arkansas and Missouri will compete each season in football and men's basketball as cross division rivals as part of the new scheduling formats approved by the Southeastern Conference at its annual meeting in Destin, Fla.

The Razorbacks are in the SEC's Western Division while the Tigers are members of the SEC's Eastern Division. The pairing means the two schools will face each other annually on the football field as well as each season in men's and women's basketball. Missouri replaces South Carolina as Arkansas' permanent opponent from the eastern division.

"I believe that the Arkansas and Missouri series will develop into a competitive rivalry in all sports for both institutions," Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. "With our close proximity, both schools will have the opportunity for fans to travel to events and help spread the reach of the Southeastern Conference within the region."

The SEC approved a 6-1-1 football schedule for league members pitting the Razorbacks against all other six Western Division teams, Missouri and one rotating Eastern Division team as part of the conference schedule each season.

The SEC also approved an 18-game men's basketball schedule which will include one permanent opponent and 12 rotating opponents. The approved 16-game women's basketball schedule consists of single round-robin games with one permanent opponent and two random opponents and single games against other conference members. Arkansas and Missouri will serve as permanent opponents in football, men's and women's basketball.