11 Ark. counties get agriculture drought help

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 11 Arkansas counties as primary natural disaster areas due to the summer drought.
The agency on Thursday additionally noted that farmers and ranchers counties that adjoin the primary disaster areas are also eligible for assistance.
The primary disaster counties are Arkansas, Cleburne, Cleveland, Crittenden, Jefferson, Lee, Lonoke, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie and St. Francis.
The contiguous counties where aid is also available are Bradley, Calhoun, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Grant, Independence, Lincoln, Mississippi, Poinsett, Pulaski, Stone, Van Buren, White and Woodruff.
Producers in the affected areas can qualify for low-interest government loans.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.