Education Board Rules on Cases of Three Region 8 Schools Monday Morning

JUNE 14, 2004 - Posted at 11:07 a.m. CDT

LITTLE ROCK, AR - Using new powers to take action against underperforming school districts, the state Education Board today voted to declare nine districts in financial distress, including two in Region 8.

The local districts include Heber Springs (Cleburne County) and Augusta (Woodruff County).  Others include Crossett, Lakeside, Oark, Jasper, Lake View, Saint Joe and Greenland.

In a separate action, the board voted to accept an appeal by the Earle School District (Crittenden County), which also had been targeted for fiscal distress.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)