NASCAR releases 2013 Sprint Cup schedule

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. ( - NASCAR today announced the Sprint Cup Series' 2013 schedule, a highly anticipated campaign that will welcome redesigned cars to the track.

Though unveiled and tested throughout the 2012 season, the new models -- the Chevrolet SS, Ford Fusion and Toyota Camry -- will make their official entrance into competition on Feb. 16 at the Shootout at Daytona International Speedway. Qualifying for the "Great American Race" will take place Feb. 17, followed by the season-opening Daytona 500 on Feb. 24.

"The new NASCAR Sprint Cup cars for next season have dominated fan conversation for more than a year, and the time is approaching to unleash them on the race track," said Brian France, NASCAR chairman and CEO. "Next year's schedule again will offer a strong mix of challenges for our talented drivers, and we believe fans will continue to enjoy what they've come to expect: the most exciting and competitive racing in the world."

The 2013 Cup schedule, marking the 65th season for NASCAR's premier series, will have a familiar feel, opening with the Daytona 500 before moving west to Phoenix (March 3) and Las Vegas (March 10). For the third consecutive season, the Chase for the Sprint Cup will start at Chicagoland. The Chase will conclude at the season finale on Nov. 17 at Homestead-Miami.

With Kansas Speedway's repave project complete, next season's fall event at Talladega will return to its traditional spot on the calendar. Talladega's 2013 Chase race, the sixth of the 10-race playoff, will be run Oct. 20. Kansas will host its 2013 Chase event on Oct. 6.

2013 Schedule

Date Track TV Date Track TV Date Track TV
Feb. 16 Daytona Shootout Fox

May 18

Charlotte All-Star Speed Aug. 24 Bristol KAIT 
Feb. 17 Daytona 500 qualifying Fox May 26 Charlotte Fox Sept. 1 Atlanta ESPN
Feb. 21 Daytona Duel Speed June 2 Dover Fox Sept. 7 Richmond KAIT 
Feb. 24 Daytona 500 Fox June 9 Pocono TNT Sept. 15 Chicagoland ESPN
March 3 Phoenix Fox June 16 Michigan TNT Sept. 22 New Hampshire ESPN
March 10 Las Vegas Fox June 23 Sonoma TNT Sept. 29 Dover ESPN
March 17 Bristol Fox June 29 Kentucky TNT Oct. 6 Kansas ESPN
March 24 Auto Club Fox July 6 Daytona TNT Oct. 12 Charlotte KAIT 
April 7 Martinsville Fox July 14 New Hampshire TNT Oct. 20 Talladega ESPN
April 13 Texas Fox July 28 Indianapolis ESPN Oct. 27 Martinsville ESPN
April 21 Kansas Fox Aug. 4 Pocono ESPN Nov. 3 Texas ESPN
April 27 Richmond Fox Aug. 11 Watkins Glen ESPN Nov. 10 Phoenix ESPN
May 5 Talladega Fox Aug. 18 Michigan ESPN Nov. 17 Homestead ESPN
May 11 Darlington Fox