Former EPC star Jordan Madden and Baylor tabbed as favorite in Big 12

From the Big 12 Conference

Baylor was selected as the preseason favorite for the fourth consecutive year and fifth time in Conference history to win the 2012-13 Big 12 women's basketball regular season title, in a vote of the league's head coaches.

The Lady Bears received nine of 10 first-place votes (coaches cannot vote for their own team) after capturing both the Big 12 regular season and postseason titles a year ago. Oklahoma and West Virginia tied for second, followed by Kansas in fourth and Texas fifth. The remaining places were: 6. Iowa State, 7. Oklahoma State, 8. Texas Tech, 9. K-State and 10. TCU.

The Big 12 has produced the last two national champions with Baylor capturing the title in 2012 behind the nation's first 40-0 record. Oklahoma State completed a postseason title sweep for the Big 12 by winning the WNIT. Iowa State, Kansas, K-State, Oklahoma, Texas and new Conference member West Virginia were also NCAA Tournament teams in 2012.

The Big 12 has ranked No. 1 in conference RPI for the past five seasons and has led the nation in attendance 13 consecutive years.

Head coaches and select student-athletes will convene in Dallas on Oct. 25 for the annual Big 12 Women's Basketball Media Day. The American Airlines Center will serve as the host for the 2013 Phillips 66 Big 12 Women's Basketball Championship March 8-11. The Big 12 Digital Network will provide live coverage of Media Day on in addition to extensive coverage on the Conference's official social media platforms.

2012-13 Big 12 Conference Women's Basketball Preseason Poll

1. Baylor (9) 81
2. Oklahoma 65
West Virginia (1) 65
4. Kansas 58
5. Texas 46
6. Iowa State 42
7. Oklahoma State 39
8. Texas Tech 25
9. Kansas State 20
10. TCU 9

Preseason Poll History

Season Preseason Selection Big 12 Champion
1996-97 Poll Not Conducted Kansas
1997-98 Texas Tech Texas Tech
1998-99 Kansas Texas Tech
1999-00 Iowa State Iowa State, Texas Tech, Oklahoma
2000-01 Iowa State Oklahoma
2001-02 Oklahoma Oklahoma
2002-03 Texas Tech Texas
2003-04 Texas Texas, Kansas State
2004-05 Texas Baylor
2005-06 Baylor Oklahoma
2006-07 Oklahoma

Texas A&M, Oklahoma

2007-08 Texas A&M K-State
2008-09 Oklahoma Oklahoma
2009-10 Baylor Nebraska
2010-11 Baylor Baylor
2011-12 Baylor Baylor