Aplin among 8 quarterbacks named as Manning Award Stars of the Week

JONESBORO, Ark. (AStateRedWolves.com) – Arkansas State senior quarterback Ryan Aplin was selected as one of the Manning Award's "Stars of the Week" for his performance in the Red Wolves' 41-34 victory at Troy.

Aplin had a career day by completing 28-of-42 passing attempts for a .667 percentage, a season-high 369 yards and a career-high four touchdown passes as the Red Wolves spoiled Troy's homecoming.  The Tampa, Fla. native also added 85 yards rushing for a school-record 454 yards of total offense.  During the game, Aplin also secured the number one spot in Sun Belt Conference history for passing yards with 10,307.

Aplin was among eight quarterbacks selected for this award.  The other honorees include Tajh Boyd of Clemson, Devin Gardner of Michigan, Everett Golson of Notre Dame, Landry Jones of Oklahoma, Chuckie Keeton of Utah State, Jordan Lynch of Northern Illinois, and Matt McGloin of Penn State.  The fans can now vote for the Manning Award "Player of the Week" from this list before voting closes on Wednesday at 11 a.m.  To vote you must "like" the All State Sugar Bowl page first and then "like" the photo of Aplin to record your vote.

To vote for Aplin, go here: http://www.facebook.com/allstatesugarbowl#!/photo.php?fbid=10152258133090459&set=a.10152258132485459.928493.297090315458&type=1&theater

The Manning Award was created in 2004 to honor the college football achievements of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.  It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.  Aplin was named to the Manning Award Watch List before the season based on his outstanding junior campaign.  The ten finalists will be named November 28.

Following a bye week, Aplin leads the Red Wolves into a contest against Middle Tennessee that will decide the Sun Belt Conference championship.  Kickoff is scheduled for 2:00 p.m. at Liberty Bank Stadium in Jonesboro.