AHSCA selects 2013 All-Star coaches for football, volleyball, cheer and dance

CONWAY (AHSAA.org) – The president of the Arkansas High School Coaches Association, Scott Kelton of Blevins announced the names of the head coaches and staffs for the 2013 Arkansas High School Coaches Association All-Star Football and Volleyball Games along with the staffs of the Cheer and Dance squads at a news conference today at Bear Hall here on the University of Central Arkansas campus.

UCA athletic director Dr. Brad Teague welcomed the members of the AHSCA, the 2013 All-Star coaches and media representatives during the morning press conference.

This summer's game will mark the 58th year of All-Star competition for football and basketball.

Head coach for the East Football squad is Roddy Mote of Harding Academy. Coach Mote will be assisted by Spencer Hill of Highland, Tim Harper of  Searcy, Cody Curtis of Salem, Patrick Russell of Mills University Studies, Brad Bolding of North Little Rock and Gail Mote of Harding Academy.

Head coach for the West Football squad is Tony Travis of Pea Ridge. Coach Travis will be assisted by Shane Patrick of Springdale, Ronnie Efird of Magnet Cove, Randy Tribble of Greenbrier, Mark Kehner of Glen Rose, Bobby Bolding of Pine Bluff and Lafe Caton of Pea Ridge.

The 2013 All-Star Football game will be held on Friday, June 21, at Estes Stadium on the UCA campus. Kick off is set for 7:00 p.m.

Head coach for the East Volleyball squad is Vickie Gatewood of Nettleton. Coach Gatewood will be assisted by Melissa Williams of Piggott, Craig Cummings of Jonesboro and Cade Smith of Central Arkansas Christian.

Head coach for the West Volleyball squad is Jessica Phelan of Fayetteville. Coach Phelan will be assisted by Tina Moore of Fountain Lake, Hannah McDonald of Prairie Grove and Shyrah Perry of Shiloh Christian.

The 2013 All-Star Volleyball game will be held on Wednesday, June 19 at the Farris Center on the UCA campus starting at 7:00 p.m.

Judy Morton of Hot Springs Lakeside will serve as the head coach of the East All-Star Cheer squad. Coach Morton will be assisted by Emily Carlton of Heber Springs.

Tab Bledsoe of El Dorado will serve as the head coach of the West All-Star Cheer squad. Coach Bledsoe will be assisted by Angela McCutcheon of Fayetteville.

Tonya Bolding of Hot Springs Lakeside will serve as the head coach of the East All-Star Dance squad. Coach Bolding will be assisted by Melissa Elrod of Glen Rose.

Becky Williams of Fayetteville will serve as the head coach of the West All-Star Dane squad. Coach Williams will be assisted by Laura Wooten of Bryant.

The Arkansas High School Coaches Association Clinic will be held June 19-21, 2013, at UCA. Several Arkansas High School coaches and college coaches will be featured speakers during the week.


East                                                                             West

Roddy Mote, Harding Academy (head coach)             Tony Travis, Pea Ridge (head coach)

Spencer Hill, Highland                                                 Shane Patrick, Springdale

Tim Harper, Searcy                                                      Ronnie Efird, Magnet Cove

Cody Curtis, Salem                                                      Randy Tribble, Greenbrier

Patrick Russell, Mills University Studies                      Mark Kehner, Glen Rose

Brad Bolding, North Little Rock                                  Bobby Bolding, Pine Bluff

Gail Mote, Harding Academy                                      Lafe Caton, Pea Ridge


East                                                                             West

Vickie Gatewood, Nettleton (head coach)                 Jessica Phelan, Fayetteville (head coach)

Melissa Williams, Piggott                                             Tina Moore, Fountain Lake

Craig Cummings, Jonesboro                                        Hannah McDonald, Prairie Grove

Cade Smith, Central Arkansas Christian                      Shyrah Perry, Shiloh Christian


East                                                                             West

Judy Morton, HS Lakeside (head coach)                     Tab Bledsoe, El Dorado (head coach)

Emily Carlton, Heber Springs                                      Angela McCutcheon, Fayetteville


East                                                                             West

Tonya Bolding, HS Lakeside (head coach)                  Becky Williams, Fayetteville (head coach)

Melissa Elrod, Glen Rose                                             Laura Wooten, Bryant