Ryan Aplin three-peats as Little Rock TD Club A-State Player of the Year

JONESBORO, Ark. (AStateRedWolves.com) — Arkansas State senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, the 2012 Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year and GoDaddy.com Bowl MVP, has been selected as the Little Rock Touchdown Club's Arkansas State Player of the Year for the third consecutive season and will be honored at the club's annual banquet on Feb. 1 along with several other award winners at both the high school and collegiate levels.

Aplin joins Arkansas-Monticello's Scott Buisson (2007, 2008 and 2010) and Arkansas' Darren McFadden (2005-07) as the only players to ever receive the Little Rock Touchdown Club's MVP honor at their respective schools three different times.  Former ASU stars Alex Carrington (2008 and 2009), Tyrell Johnson (2007), Reggie Arnold (2006), Eric Neihouse (2005) and Antonio Warren (2004) also received the award in past years.

Aplin helped lead Arkansas State to a 10-3 record and a 7-1 Sun Belt mark to claim its second straight league title and a spot in the GoDaddy.com Bowl. Aplin completed 21 passes for 213 yards and a touchdown in ASU's 17-13 victory over then-ranked No. 25 Kent State in the bowl game to end his career with the Red Wolves.  ASU received votes in both major top-25 polls and was ranked No. 23 in the final CBSSports.com Power Poll formulated by Dennis Dodd.

Aplin, also named the Sun Belt's 2011 Player of the Year, is just the second player in league history to receive its top honor, joining former North Texas defensive lineman Brandon Kennedy (2002-03).

Aplin finished the season ranked No. 1 in the conference in passing efficiency (154.7), total offense (3,780 yards) and passing yards (3,342).  He broke his own school record for passing touchdowns with 24 and was named the Sun Belt Conference Offensive Player of the Week three straight times to end the regular season.  Aplin is both ASU's and the Sun Belt Conference's all-time leader in career total offense, passing yards, and completions, with numerous other school records to his credit.

The Little Rock Touchdown Club Awards Banquet on Feb. 1 is set to begin at 11 a.m. and will be held at the Embassy Suites in Little Rock, where each award winner will have an opportunity to speak.  Ticket information for the banquet can be found online at LRTouchdown.com.