Jerry Carlton named 2013 SEC Basketball Legend

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. ( – Former Razorback basketball player Jerry Carlton has been named Arkansas' 2013 Allstate Southeastern Conference Basketball Legend by the league office in Birmingham, Ala.  Carlton and the representatives from each of the 13 other SEC schools will be honored at the men's basketball tournament, March 13-17, at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

Carlton was a Converse Honorable Mention All-American in 1961 making him the 14th player in Arkansas history to earn All-America honors and was just the second to score 1,000 career points during his senior season of 1962.  He concluded his career as the No. 2 scorer in school history with 1,042 points, 320 rebounds and an astounding 84.3 percent free throw shooting percentage.  The two-time first-team All-Southwest Conference selection ranked No. 2 in the NCAA in free throw shooting percentage during the 1962 season when he hit 88.0 percent from the line and was a 13th-round selection in the 1962 NBA draft by the St. Louis Hawks.  Carlton was a 2004 inductee into the University of Arkansas Sports Hall of Honor and 2011 inductee into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2013 SEC Basketball Legend class features: Wimp Sanderson, Alabama; Jerry Carlton, Arkansas; Ronnie Battle, Auburn; Bill Koss, Florida; Tim Bassett, Georgia; Jamal Mashburn, Kentucky; Geert Hammink, LSU; Rahim Lockhart, Ole Miss; Horatio Webster, Mississippi State; Norm Stewart, Missouri; Eddie Fogler, South Carolina; Len Kosmalski, Tennessee; John Beasley, Texas A&M; Mike Rhoades, Vanderbilt

Carlton is the 15th SEC Basketball Legend for the Razorbacks since the program began in 1999.  Other Razorback greats that have been honored include: Nolan Richardson (2012), George Kok (2011), Jim Counce (2010), Scotty Thurman (2009), Corliss Williamson (2008), U.S. Reed (2007), Marvin Delph (2006), Scott Hastings (2005), Todd Day (2004), Lee Mayberry (2003), Ron Brewer (2002), Joe Kleine (2001), Tommy Boyer (2000) and Sidney Moncrief (1999).