Batesville native named Poultry & Livestock commissioner

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Livestock & Poultry Commission has elected a Batesville farmer as the new chairman of the commission.

The commission announced Friday that Charles "Ed" Mabry of Batesville will serve as chairman for the 20112-2013 year.

Mabry was appointed to a 7-year-term on the commission in 2009 by Gov. Mike Beebe.

He is retired from John Deer and currently farms 420 acres in Independence County.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.