ASU Bowling arrives in Michigan in preparation for NCAA Championship

CANTON, Mich. ( – The Arkansas State women's bowling team departed from Jonesboro at 5:30 a.m. Tuesday morning and arrived in Detroit, Mich. around noon (ET) as the Red Wolves prepare for the NCAA Tournament in Canton, Mich.

After the Red Wolves landed, the team ate lunch and checked into its hotel.  Once check-in was complete, A-State relaxed Tuesday afternoon and went to a movie before eating dinner.

The team will practice Wednesday morning at Super Bowl Lanes of Canton, Mich. before participating in the annual NCAA Tournament Banquet, where the National Tenpin Coaches Association will announce the All-American teams and Player of the Year Awards.

The tournament begins Thursday, April 11 with two sections of seeding rounds.  Each team will bowl one, five-person game against the other seven teams in the field for a total of seven games.  Teams will then be seeded for bracket play based on their win-loss record during seeding rounds.  The first section is scheduled to begin at 10:40 a.m. (CT), while the second section is set to start at 4:40 p.m. (CT).  Both qualifying rounds can be seen live on

Friday's bracket play starts at 10:40 a.m. (CT) with teams competing in best-of-seven baker matches in a double elimination tournament.  In the baker format, each of the five team members in the lineup will bowl a complete frame in order until a complete 10-frame game is bowled.

Saturday's action will start at 3:10 p.m. (CT) if it is necessary to determine the two teams that will bowl for the championship.  The championship will begin at 7:00 p.m. (CT) and will be televised on ESPNU live.  A tape delay broadcast of the championship final will air on ESPN Sunday, April 14 from 1-2:30 p.m. (CT).

The Red Wolves are making their sixth straight appearance in the NCAA tournament.  A-State has a record of 86-28 and is ranked fourth in the latest National Tenpin Coaches Association Poll.

Joining ASU in the field are Nebraska, Maryland-Eastern Shore, Central Missouri, Vanderbilt, Sam Houston State, Wisconsin-Whitewater, and Fairleigh Dickinson.