A-State Tennis wins SBC Conference team academic award

From Arkansas State University

The Arkansas State women's tennis team was recognized for its outstanding performance in the classroom at the Sun Belt Conference Tennis awards banquet Wednesday night.

The Red Wolves won the team academic award, which is awarded to the team with the highest combined GPA, with a grade point average of 3.5.

"It's great to get the team academic award back to ASU," Arkansas State tennis coach Marina Engelbrecht said.  "I'm proud of having a balanced team that works hard on the court, but also in the classroom."

A-State also had five members of the team named to the Commissioner's List, which honors student-athletes for achieving a grade point average of 3.50 or higher.  Ioana Teu, Jess Heeps-Eriksen, Tamara Slijepcevic, Biljana Miloshevska, and Janie Nowland were recognized with the award.

The ASU women's tennis team became the sixth Arkansas State athletic squad to win a team academic award during the same academic year, marking the first time in ASU history that the school's athletic teams have combined to win six academic team awards.