Newport's Caleb Cross a finalist for two awards in 2013 HOGSPY Awards

FAYETTEVILLE ( – University of Arkansas student-athletes and coaches will gather for a star-studded affair to help celebrate a memorable year in Razorback Athletics on Wednesday night at the 2013 HOGSPY Awards at the Walton Arts Center. The evening will include a Red Carpet arrival and a formal awards show beginning at 8 p.m. Fans can watch a free live web stream of the awards show on

The 2013 HOGSPY Awards will be hosted by former Razorback and ESPN college basketball analyst Jimmy Dykes. Members of the University of Arkansas' Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) will once serve as award presenters. The HOGSPY Awards are made possible in part by a gift from Jeff Fox of the Circumference Group. This is the second year of the event.

The HOGSPY Awards will recognize the best in athletics, academics, leadership and community service from April 1, 2012-March 31, 2013. Individual awards to be presented include male and female recipients in the categories of student-athlete of the year, rookie of the year, scholar-athlete of the year, distinguished leaders of the year and the Burlsworth Award. Team awards will recognize the academic teams of the year, the Hog Tough performances of the year, the greatest comebacks and the top athletic teams of the year.

Below are the finalists for the 2013 HOGSPY awards:

Rookies of the Year
(First-year student-athletes who demonstrated outstanding athletic performance during competition)

Sydnie Dillard – Gymnastics
Ashleigh Ellenwood- Soccer
Liz Fortado – Volleyball
Gabriela Lopez – Women's Golf
Devon Wallace - Softball

Rohan Gaines – Football
Jarrion Lawson – Men's Indoor Track and Field

Heart of the Hog Award
(Student-athlete who is considered the heart of the team because of their outstanding leadership both in and out of competition)

Josh Eure – Men's Golf
Erin Gatling – Women's Basketball
Kikko Haydar – Men's Basketball
Claudine Paulson – Women's Tennis
Megan Pearson – Softball
Jake Wise – Baseball

Hog Tough Award
(Honors a noteworthy game or competition where a team made an exciting comeback and earned a victory)

Baseball (2012 Waco Super Regional)
Men's Basketball  (2013 comeback win over Missouri)
Soccer (2012 vs. Tennessee)
Men's Indoor Track and Field (2013 NCAA Championship)
Women's Indoor Track and Field (2013 SEC Championship)

Comeback Student-Athlete
(Honors a standout student-athlete who has demonstrated outstanding resilience to overcome a significant obstacle or setback in order to have a profound contribution during athletic competition)

Tarik Batchelor – Men's Track and Field
Tera Bradham – Swimming and Diving
Jordan Salsberg – Gymnastics
Allie Tripp – Soccer
Matt Vinson – Baseball
Marshawn Powell – Men's Basketball

Brandon Burlsworth Award
(Honors student-athletes who exhibit excellence in academics, athletics, leadership and community service)


Courtney Hubbard – Swimming and Diving
Ivanique Kemp – Women's Track and Field
Kelci Lewis – Gymnastics

Cameron Bryan – Football
Caleb Cross – Men's Track and Field
Matt Vinson – Baseball

Play of the Year
(Honors an outstanding play, moment or performance)

Coty Clarke – Men's Basketball (2013 performance vs. Florida)
Marek Nitt, Neil Braddy, Caleb Cross and Akheem Gauntlett – 4x400 Relay Team (2013 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championship)
Tori Mort – Softball (catch vs. No. 1 California in 2012 NCAA Regional)
Regina George – Women's Track and Field (2013 SEC Indoor Track and Field Championship)
Victor Hoang – Men's Tennis (Dual match vs. Purdue)
Susanna White – Swimming and Diving (Tri-meet performance against Florida State and South Carolina)

Scholar-Athletes of the Year


Amanda Anderson – Volleyball
Nikki Daniels – Swimming and Diving
Kelci Lewis – Gymnastics
Hope McLemore – Softball
Victoria Vela – Women's Golf

Dylan Breeding – Football
Nathanael Franks – Men's Indoor Track and Field
Kikko Haydar – Men's Basketball

Student-Athletes of the Year

Roslandy Acosta – Volleyball
Makeba Alcide – Women's Indoor Track and Field
Nikki Daniels – Swimming and Diving
Jasmine Norton – Volleyball
Emily Tubert – Women's Golf

Andrew Irwin – Men's Indoor Track and Field
Kevin Lazas – Men's Indoor Track and Field
Marshawn Powell – Men's Basketball
Matt Reynolds – Baseball
Tyler Wilson - Football