ASU finishes 8th in Sun Belt Men's Golf Championship

MUSCLE SHOALS, Ala. ( - The North Texas Mean Green fired a one-over par 289 in the third and final round to claim the 2013 Sun Belt Conference Men's Golf Championship title on Wednesday at the Robert Trent Jones the Shoals Fighting Joe course.

It was the second consecutive title for the Mean Green and the first golf back-to-back championship since UALR accomplished the feat during the 2000 and 2001 championships.

North Texas capped the three-day tournament with a seven-over par total of 871. Carlos Ortiz led the way for the Mean Green with a three-under par 69 final round. Ortiz completed the tournament at three-over par. He was one of three Mean Green golfers to be named to the SBC Men's Golf All-Tournament team.

Play on Wednesday was scheduled to begin at 7:30 a.m. CT but a weather delay several hours long pushed back the start times to 11:30 a.m. CT. The rain may have subsided but the winds kept howling on the course causing havoc for many of the players.

Despite the conditions, Lane Hulse of South Alabama battled through it to take home the 2013 individual title in a playoff with Rodolfo Cazaubon of North Texas. The duo, playing in the final group together, both capped the tournament at two-under par for the week. Hulse fired an even-par 72 in the final round while Cazaubon shot a two-over 74. Hulse went on to claim the individual title on the first playoff hole, birdying the 18th while Cazaubon would bogey the hole.

Both Hulse and Cazaubon were named to the All-Tournament team as was Georgia State's Jonathan Grey and Middle Tennessee's Lucas Armstrong.

Georgia State finished as the runner-up after they shot a final round 295. South Alabama was third, followed by Middle Tennessee and UALR. Armstrong was third in the individual standings with a three-round total of 216. Grey was fourth with a 217 followed by the NT duo of Ortiz and Donahoe at 219.


Jonathan Grey, Georgia State

Lucas Armstrong, Middle Tennessee

Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas

Curtis Donahoe, North Texas

Carlos Ortiz, North Texas

Lane Hulse, South Alabama (Individual Medalist)


1. North Texas -- 295-287-289=871

2. Georgia State -- 295-286-295=876

3. South Alabama -- 284-300-296=880

4. Middle Tennesseee -- 295-290-301=886

5. UALR -- 293-294-307=894

6. Troy -- 299-290-308=897

7. Louisiana-Lafayette -- 303-294-303=900

8. Arkansas State -- 300-305-301=906

9. WKU -- 306-302-301=909

10. Florida Atlantic -- 310-312-298=920

11. Louisiana-Monroe -- 306-310-316=932

INDIVIDUAL LEADERS (Top 10 and ties)

1. Lane Hulse, South Alabama -- 68-74-72=214

2. Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas -- 72-68-74=214

3. Lucas Armstrong, Middle Tennessee -- 69-72-75=216

4. Jonathan Grey, Georgia State -- 79-68-70=217

T5. Carlos Ortiz, North Texas -- 74-76-69=219

T5. Curtis Donahoe, North Texas -- 74-72-73=219

T7. Jake Tucker, Troy -- 72-73-75=220

T7. Brandt Garon, Louisiana-Lafayette -- 75-74-71=220

T9. Payne Denman, Middle Tennessee -- 72-75-74=221

T9. Tyler Gruca, Georgia State -- 73-74-74=221

T9. Davin White, Georgia State -- 73-74-74=221

T9. Grant Cagle, Georgia State -- 74-70-77=221