2013 SEC Softball Tournament bracket announced

From the Southeastern Conference

The Southeastern Conference announced its 2013 Softball Tournament field Sunday with No. 2/3 Florida claiming the No. 1 seed.  The tournament will be hosted by the University of Kentucky at John Cropp Stadium May 8-11 in Lexington, Ky. The entire tournament will be televised live on the ESPN family of networks. The first round games, quarterfinals and semifinals will air on ESPNU, while the championship will air primetime on ESPN at 8:00 p.m. (ET) on Saturday, May 11.

Florida will make its 17th consecutive SEC tournament appearance. The Gators clinched its fourth overall SEC title and will open tournament play on Thursday, May 9. The Tennessee Lady Vols earned the No. 2 seed while the Missouri Tigers enter the tournament as the No. 3 seed.

The tournament will open with No. 8 Alabama vs. No. 9 Texas A&M at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, May 8. LSU earns the No. 4 seed and Georgia earns the 5th seed after taking winning the regular season series vs. the Tigers. LSU and Georgia will battle for a third consecutive time and open up tournament play on Thursday, May 9 at 1:30 p.m.

Two teams that were not in the tournament last year will make appearances. The Arkansas Razorbacks (No. 6 seed) are making their first appearance since 2010, their ninth overall. South Carolina makes the field of the conference tourney for the first time since 2007. The Gamecocks will face off with host Kentucky on Wednesday, May 8 at 6:30 p.m. ET.

Covering the games will be ESPN's softball crew of Beth Mowins, Holly Rowe, Michele Smith, Jessica Mendoza and Cara Capuano.  SECDigitalNetwork.com will be live at the tournament as well, with exclusive online coverage behind the scenes.

Tickets for the single-elimination tournament can be purchased through the Kentucky Athletic Ticket Office by visiting www.ukathletics.com.

2013 Tournament Bracket

Wednesday, May 8

Game 1: #8 Alabama vs. #9 Texas A&M (ESPNU)                                                4 p.m. ET

Game 2: #7 Kentucky vs. #10 South Carolina (ESPNU)                                      6:30 p.m. ET

Thursday, May 9

Game 3: #1 Florida vs. Winner of game 1 (#8 vs. #9) (ESPNU)                       11:00 a.m. ET

Game 4: #4 LSU vs. #5 Georgia (ESPNU)                                                                  1:30 p.m. ET

Game 5: #2 Tennessee vs. Winner of game 2 (#7 vs. #10) (ESPNU)             4:00 p.m. ET

Game 6: #3 Missouri vs. #6 Arkansas (ESPNU)                                                     6:30 p.m. ET

Friday, May 10

Game 7: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner (ESPNU)                                       3:00 p.m. ET

Game 8: Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner (ESPNU)                                       5:30 p.m. ET

Saturday, May 11

Championship Game (ESPN)                                                                                      8:00 p.m. ET