Jim DeVazier will be inducted in UCA Sports Hall of Fame


CONWAY, Ark. (UCASports.com) - The 13th Class of the University of Central Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame Class has been selected and will be inducted on Oct. 5.

The 2013 class includes six new inductees: Jim DeVazier; Clifton Ealy; Jerry Joe Harrison; Nate Krig; Jim Landers, and Chris Smith.

DeVazier was a two-sport lettermen in football and swimming from 1948-51 and was a long-time high school football coach at Forrest City High School.

Ealy was an All-Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference wide receiver for the Bears from 1977-80 and has had a long college coaching career in football.

Harrison played football at UCA in the early 1960s and earned All-AIC honors before an extended career as a football coach and adminstrator in the Conway school district.

Krig was a record-setting track and field athlete at UCA from 1968-70, earning All-America honors in 1969, and also played football at UCA.

Landers was an outstanding two-sport athlete at UCA in the late 1950s, earning All-Conference and All-Region honors, and later had a distinguished career in education.

Smith was an All-American defensive for the UCA football team that won the 1991 NAIA National Championship.

The newest class will bring the total number of Hall of Fame members to 129.

The induction banquet for the Class of 2013 will be held in the UCA Student Center Ballroom on Saturday, Oct. 5, prior to the UCA-McNeese State football game at First Security Field at Estes Stadium.