James Franklin & Bo Wallace on Davey O'Brien watch list

FORT WORTH, Texas (SECDigitalNetwork.com) – The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced the 2013 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List today.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2013 college football season.

The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner, Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M) and 2012 finalist Braxton Miller (Ohio State) join five 2012 semifinalists on the Watch List: Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Teddy Bridgewater (Louisville), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), AJ McCarron (Alabama) and Aaron Murray (Georgia).

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 4. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 25. The 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12.

The 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

2013 Davey O'Brien Watch List

David Ash, Texas, Big 12

Blake, Bortles, UCF, AAC

Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, AAC

Terrance Broadway, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sun Belt

Kolton Browning, ULM, Sun Belt

Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC

Rakeem Cato, Marshall, C-USA

Cody Fajardo, Nevada, MWC

David Fales, San Jose State, MWC

James Franklin, Missouri, SEC

Devin Gardner, Michigan, Big Ten

Kevin Hogan, Stanford, Pac-12

Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, MWC

Taylor Kelly, Arizona State, Pac-12

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois, MAC

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC

Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten

AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC

Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten

Stephen Morris, Miami (FL), ACC

Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

Casey Pachall, TCU, Big 12

Keith Price, Washington, Pac-12

Bryn Renner, North Carolina, ACC

Keenan Reynolds, Navy, Independent

Tyler Russell, Mississippi State, SEC

Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC

Tyler Tettleton, Ohio, MAC

Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech, ACC

Bo Wallace, Ole Miss, SEC

Keith Wenning, Ball State, MAC

By conference: SEC (7), Pac-12 (5), ACC (4), Mountain West (4), Big Ten (3), Mid-American (3), American Athletic (2), Big 12 (2), Sun Belt (2), Independents (1), Conference USA (1).