Red Wolves Men’s X-Country Finishes 6th at Twilight Classic - KAIT Jonesboro, AR - Region 8 News, weather, sports

Red Wolves Men’s X-Country Finishes 6th at Twilight Classic

Memphis, TN (ASU) – The 2013 Arkansas State University men's cross country team took sixth place in its season-opening appearance at the Brooks Memphis Twilight Classic, which was held this Saturday (Aug. 31) night in Memphis, Tenn.

The meet, which was held on the four-mile plus Mike Rose Soccer Park course, saw Arkansas State register 127 points to claim sixth in the eight-team field.  Mississippi State won the team title with 55 followed by Morehead State (60) in second and Central Arkansas (68) was third.

Sophomore Wil Norris was A-State's top finisher as he ran the course in a time of 22:02.93 to garner 12th place.  Sophomore Lance Beckman also cracked the top 25 with generating a 22:29.30 time to earn 24th place.  Junior Luke Lindsley crossed the finish line at 22:33.48 to take 30th place while freshman Zach Van Gundy ened up one place behind Lindsley, attaining 31st overall with a time of 22:35.63 among 173 runners.

"We anticipated we would have more depth this season and the results of tonight's race indicate we were correct," stated A-State head coach Kyle Chandler.  "Wil Norris ran a patient and smart race, gradually moving up throughout to finish 12th place.  Lance Beckman, Luke Lindsley, and Zach Van Gundy all came in at the 2.3. and 4 positions very close.  Overall, I was quite pleased with the men's team performance."

The sixth-place effort showed marked improvement over last year in which the Red Wolves wound up ninth at the 2012 Brooks Memphis Twilight Classic with 260 points.

Arkansas State will have a week off before taking part in the Saint Louis Big River Festival meet in St. Louis, Mo.  The 6K men's race is scheduled to get underway at 5:15 p.m. (CT).

A-State Men's Results
12. Wil Norris – 22:02.93
24. Lance Beckman – 22:29.30
30. Luke Lindsley – 22:33.48
31. Zach Van Gundy – 22:35.63
65. Mark Talarico – 23:28.29
68. Devin Reed – 23:31.87
70.  Austin DeWitt – 23:32.40
78. Kyle Somerville – 23:42.17
89. Tyler Davis – 23:58.81
90. Taylor Bazo – 23:59.66
100. Brock Westerman – 24:17.21
103. Jesse Duvall – 24:19.14
116. Rhett Raibley – 24:34.38
139. Andre Walker – 26:03.97
156. Denton Postlewait – 28:00.64

Brooks Memphis Twilight Classic Team Results
1. Mississippi State – 55 pts.
2. Morehead State – 60 pts.
3. Central Arkansas – 68 pts.
4. Memphis – 79 pts.
5. Ole Miss – 106 pts.
6. Arkansas State – 127 pts.
7. Austin Peay – 199 pts.
8. Mississippi Valley – 238 pts.

Powered by Frankly