Scholarship established for Clinton School in LR

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Little Rock Nine Foundation is creating a scholarship fund for students attending the Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service in Little Rock.

Foundation spokeswoman Carlotta Walls Lanier says the Clinton School is now the foundation's educational philanthropic focus because it prepares students for 'the global arena" and keeps alive the story of the group.

The group known as the Little Rock Nine were nine black students who integrated Little Rock Central High School in 1957.

The nine are Lanier; Melba Pattillo Beals; Elizabeth Eckford; Ernest Green; Gloria Ray Karlmark; Terrence Roberts; Minnijean Brown Trickey; Thelma Mothershed Wair; and the late Jefferson Thomas.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.