A-State CC Completes Season at ISU Pre-National and UALR Invite

Terre Haute, IN & Little Rock, AR (ASU) – The Arkansas State University women's and men's cross country teams wrapped up their 2013 regular-season competition this Saturday (Oct. 19) at the Indiana State Pre-National Invitationaland the UALR Invitational.

The A-State women's team, featured a split squad as five individuals ran in the 50-team plus Indiana Pre-National Invitational in Terre Haute, Ind.  The Red Wolves finished 45th place with a 994 team score in the highly-competitive 6K race held at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course.  Arkansas State faced its stiffest competition this fall as the meet field featured 13 nationally-ranked teams, including three presently listed within the top six in the nation.

Leading the way for the regionally-ranked Red Wolves was junior Kristina Aubert, who ran a time of 20:44.56 to capture 24th-place honors.  Sophomore Abbey Dixon earned 178th place in the blue race field of 340 runners with a personal season-best 21:56.29 time followed by junior Rexi Parcells' 22:11.52 time.  Parcells, who clocked a season-best 22:11.52 time for a 6K race, tied Anna Lamb of Miami (Ohio) for 222nd place.  Georgetown won the blue race with 117 points while nationally second-ranked Florida State compiled 162 points to finish in second place.

The remaining contingent of A-State women's harriers participated in the UALR Invitational at the Rebsamen Golf Course in Little Rock, Ark.  The Red Wolves tallied 67 team points to place third among the five teams in the 5K race as Central Arkansas was first as a result of a 21-points team total. Junior Chelsey Roberson paced A-State with a seventh-place 18:31.12 time and was followed by freshman Brianne Murphy, who ran an 18:38.96 to wind up in 10th place.  Senior Bailey Sisson-Eller was one place in back of Murphy with an 11th-place 18:41.81 time.  The A-State women's team entered both meets ranked a program-best eighth place in the most recent (Oct. 7) United States Track and Field & Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) South Central Region rankings.

For the men, Arkansas State garnered third place in the five-team 8K event with 76 points.  Central Arkansas was first with 25 points and UALR achieved runner-up honors by totaling 36 points.  Individually, sophomore Wil Norris and junior Luke Lindsley were tops for A-State as Norris turned in a ninth-place 25:21.09 time while Lindsley ran a 10th-place 25:22.83 time.  For Norris and Lindsley, those times marked personal season bests 8K race performances to date this season.

The races for Arkansas State marked the Red Wolves' final tune-up before competing in the 2013 Sun Belt Conference Cross Country Championships, which will take place Saturday, Nov. 2, in Troy, Ala.
A-State Women's Team Results
Indiana State Pre-National Invitational
45. Arkansas State – 994 pts.

A-State Women's Individual Results
24. Kristina Aubert – 20:44.56
178. Abbey Dixon – 21:56.29
222. Rexi Parcells – 22:11.52
274. Tilda Helgesson – 22:37.69
298.  Heather Newberry – 22:56.22

UALR Invitational
3. Arkansas State – 67 pts.

A-State Women's Individual Results
7. Chelsey Roberson – 18:31.12
10. Brianne Murphy – 18:38.96
11. Bailey Sisson-Eller – 18:41.81
17. Holly Sando – 19:31.86
23. Lindsey Mills – 20:01.71
29. Zoie Wilson – 20:32.21
36. Kristi Houck – 22:41.51

A-State Men's Team Results
UALR Invitational
3. Arkansas State – 76 pts.

A-State Men's Individual Results
9. Wil Norris – 25:21.09
10. Luke Lindsley – 25:22.83
17. Lance Beckman – 26:00.63
18. Kyle Somerville – 26:03.23
23. Zach VanGundy – 26:23.58
29. Devin Reed – 26:48.65
31. Brock Westerman – 26:57.17
32. Austin DeWitt – 27:07.91
37. Jesse Duvall – 27:22.05
38. Tyler Davis – 27:22.63
41. Mark Talarico – 27:34.17
46. Rhett Raibley – 28:14.18
51. Taylor Bazo – 29:25.68
52.  Andre Walker – 29:35.92
53.  Denton Postlewait – 31:22.86