A-State Cross Country Set to Compete at Sun Belt Championships

JONESBORO, AR (ASU) – The championship portion for the 2013 Arkansas State University men's and women's cross country teams begins this upcoming Saturday (Nov. 2) as the Red Wolves compete in the Sun Belt Conference (SBC) Cross Country Championships at Troy, Ala.

The 2013 SBC Championships, which will be held at Trojan Oaks on the Troy University campus, start with the women's 5K race at 10 a.m. (CT) followed by the men's 8K race at 11 a.m. (CT).  After the conclusion of both events, an awards ceremony will be conducted at approximately 11:45 a.m. (CT).

"We are anticipating a very competitive conference meet for both the men and women," said A-State cross country head coach Kyle Chandler.  "The course at Troy University will be the first time we have run on it and from the reports we've received, it will be quite challenging."

The A-State women's team will go into the conference meet ranked 10th in the latest (Oct. 21) United States Track and Field & Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) South Central Region Rankings.  The Red Wolves feature juniors Kristina Aubert and Rexi Parcells along with sophomore Abbey Dixon.  Aubert, a three-time SBC Runner of the Week selection this season, led A-State at the 2012 league meet with a third-place finish to earn first-team all-conference recognition.

"It should be an exciting race for the team conference title and we believe we should be in contention for the title as should several other quality league teams," said Chandler.

For the men, Arkansas State has been led this season by sophomore Wil Norris, junior Luke Lindsley, and sophomore Lance Beckman.  Lindsley and Beckman paced the Red Wolves at the 2012 championships with 36th and 37th-place finishes, respectively.

"The men's depth is better this season as compared to a year ago," said Chandler.  "We look to use that depth to improve upon our conference finish last year."

The 2013 Sun Belt All-Conference teams will be based solely on the performance of individual competitors at the conference meet.  Those runners placing among the top five will receive first-team recognition while second-team laurels will be presented to those who finish in sixth through 10th place.  Third-team accolades will be awarded to runners placing 11th thru 15th place.  The SBC Coach of the Year and Freshman of the Year Awards will also be presented during the awards ceremony.

The scoring procedure for the SBC Championships is one point for first place, two points for second, third place shall score three points and so forth through the remainder of the finishing field.  Seven runners from each team who complete the course shall be ranked and tallied in this manner.  The team score shall be determined by totaling the points scored by the first five runners of each team to finish.  The team scoring the lowest number of points shall be declared the winner.  If fewer than five runners finish for an institution, the places of all members of that team shall be disregarded except for individual awards purposes.  The eighth runner from each team shall be a non-scoring and a non-displacing competitor.

The A-State women's team posted a program all-time best second-place showing at the 2012 SBC Championships in Bowling Green, Ky., with a 58-points total among the 12 conference participants.  The A-State men's squad recorded 221 points to earn ninth-place honors.  Georgia State was crowned the 2012 conference champions on the women's side while Arkansas-Little Rock (UALR) claimed the men's title.

For more information on the 2013 Sun Belt Conference Cross Country Championships, please visit this link – [http://www.sunbeltsports.org.  Complete results will be available online following the conference meet's conclusion at AStateRedWolves.com.