Frank Broyles inducted into SWC Hall of Fame

DALLAS ( - Former Arkansas head football coach and athletic director Frank Broyles was inducted into the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame at a luncheon ceremony in Dallas on Monday. Broyles is one of nine inductees in the first class to be inducted into the SWC Hall of Fame since 1995.

"We are pleased that Coach Broyles is being recognized for his contributions to the long-time success of the Southwest Conference and his positive influence on intercollegiate athletics," Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. "His accomplished career as a football coach, administrator and broadcaster helped bring recognition not only to the University of Arkansas, but also helped raise the national profile of the Southwest Conference. His induction is an opportunity to help celebrate the legacy of Coach Broyles and the long and storied history of the Razorbacks in the Southwest Conference."

Other members of the 2013 inagural class include Jay Arnette of Texas, Bob Brock of Texas A&M, Rick Bullock of Texas Tech, Trevor Cobb of Rice, Jerry Mallett of Baylor, Gene Phillips of SMU, Tom Tellez of Houston and Frank Windegger of TCU. The Texas Sports Hall of Fame (TSHOF) sponsors the SWC Hall of Fame, previously the SWC Hall of Honor. The 167 members of the TSHOF that were involved in SWC athletics are now recognized as members of the SWC Hall of Fame.

Broyles has been a part of University of Arkansas athletics for more than 50 years, serving as the head football coach, athletic director and currently Athletic Director Emeritus. His coaching tenure at Arkansas began in 1958 and continued until 1976. In that time, he amassed a record of 144-58-5, 7 SWC titles, 10 bowl bids, 20 All-Americans and 88 All-SWC selections. In 1964, Coach Broyles led the Razorback football team to an undefeated season that culminated in a 10-7 win over Nebraska in the Cotton Bowl and a National Championship. During his time as athletic director, Arkansas won 43 national titles, 57 Southwest Conference titles, and 48 Southeastern Conference titles and the football team went to 22 bowl games.

Before coming to the University of Arkansas, Broyles started his football career playing quarterback at Georgia Tech University (1944-46) and then went on to be an assistant coach at Baylor (1947-49) and Florida (1950), an offensive coordinator at Georgia Tech (1951-56) and then the head coach for Missouri (1957). From 1977-85, Broyles worked as a broadcaster for ABC with Keith Jackson.

Including this induction into the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame, Broyles is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame, National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Hall of Fame, Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame, Orange Bowl Hall of Fame, Gator Bowl Hall of Fame, Georgia Tech Hall of Fame and State of Georgia Hall of Fame. He was also a member of the inaugural class of the University of Arkansas Hall of Honor. In 2000 he was awarded the John L. Toner Award for outstanding achievement as an athletic director by the National Football foundation. Created to honor Coach Broyles in 1996, the Broyles award is presented each year to the nation's top assistant coach.

Broyles was honored with a bronze statue in front of the Broyles Athletic Center on November 23, 2013, and the field at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium was dedicated as Frank Broyles Field on November 3, 2007.