Mitchell & Johansen selected to All-Sun Belt Women's Soccer 1st Team

San Marcos, Texas. ( – The Sun Belt Conference has announced its 2013 Women's Soccer All-Conference team and individual award winners announced on Tuesday evening during the pre-tournament banquet at the SBC Soccer Championship in San Marcos, Texas. The selections were made in a vote by the league's 10 head coaches.
South Alabama freshman phenom, Lauren Allison, was named the league's offensive Player and Freshman of the Year after posting a league leading 39 points, 14 goals and 11 assists. The 39 points and 14 goals rank Allison fourth overall in those categories on the all-time Jaguar single-season lists.
Allison, a native of Bicester, Oxfordshire, U.K., was a two-time SBC Offensive Player of the Week.
Allison was one of three freshmen to grace the first team – UL-Lafayette's Yazmin Montoya and Troy's Necee Jennings were the other freshmen on the first team.
UL-Lafayette's Grace Howell-Harries was named the conference's top defender as the junior was the backbone for the Ragin' Cajuns in 2013, playing every minute in the regular season and scoring five points as a defender.
Howell-Harries spent 1,606 minutes on the pitch, and helped hold the Cajuns' opponents to 23 goals, the fewest in a regular season in school history.
WKU's Jason Neidell earned his second SBC Coach of the Year award after he led the Lady Toppers to a 8-5-5 overall record and a 6-2-0 conference mark, a regular season title and the tournament's top seed. Neidell previously earned the award back in 2007, the last year the Lady Toppers claimed a regular season title.
In addition to the individual awards the SBC honored the All-SBC First and Second teams. Top-seeded WKU placed seven individuals on the All-Conference teams; three of them on All-SBC First team while second-seeded USA had two student-athletes apiece on the two lists and the Ragin' Cajuns placed three on the All-Conference lists. Arkansas State, Texas State and Troy each placed two student-athletes on the lists while UALR and Georgia State were represented with one student-athlete each.
The SBC Women's Soccer Championship begins Wednesday, Nov. 6. The opening round match will pit No. 2 South Alabama against No. 7 Georgia State at 10 a.m. (CT). All matches can be seen live via web streaming on the Sun Belt Conference official website -
All streamed matches are free for viewing.
2013 SBC First Team All-Conference
Loren Mitchell (Arkansas State, Sophomore, Forward)
Ashley Nagy (Georgia State, Sophomore, Forward)
Yazmin Montoya (UL-Lafayette, Freshman, Forward)
Lauren Allison (South Alabama, Freshman, Forward)
Clarissa Hernandez (South Alabama, Senior, Midfielder)
Necee Jennings (Troy, Freshman, Midfielder)
Chrissy Tchoula (WKU, Senior, Midfielder)
Lindsay Johansen (Arkansas State, Sophomore, Defender)
Grace Howell-Harries (UL-Lafayette, Junior, Defender)
Torrie Lange (WKU, Senior, Defender)
Nora Abolins (WKU, Senior, Goalkeeper)
2013 SBC Second Team All-Conference
Annika Schmidt (UL-Lafayette, Freshman, Forward)
Lynsey Curry (Texas State, Sophomore, Forward)
Iris Dunn (WKU, Freshman, Forward)
Ariel Galletti (UALR, Junior, Midfielder)
Tori Hale (Texas State, Junior, Midfielder)
Andrea Curry (WKU, Senior, Midfielder)
Jess Oram (South Alabama, Senior, Defender)
Shelby Owen (South Alabama, Senior, Defender)
Chandler Clark (WKU, Sophomore, Defender)
Stephanie Lindsey (WKU, Senior, Defender)
Madison Winter (Troy, Senior, Goalkeeper)
2013 SBC Offensive Player of the Year
Lauren Allison (South Alabama, Freshman, Forward)
2013 SBC Defensive Player of the Year
Grace Howell-Harries (UL-Lafayette, Junior, Defender)
2013 SBC Freshman of the Year
Lauren Allison (South Alabama, Freshman, Forward)
2013 SBC Coach of the Year
Jason Neidell, WKU