Cave City, Stone Co. among grant recipients

LITTLE ROCK, AR (AP/KAIT) - Sixteen Arkansas cities and counties have received Community Development Block Grants through the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

The grants were announced Wednesday by Gov. Mike Beebe. The grants totaled $3.3 million and will be used for a variety of projects, including senior centers, libraries, community centers and street improvements.

Cave City received a grant for $325,000 to go towards a childcare center project. Stone County also received $60,000 for a food pantry.

Other recipients are: Alma, Cove, Crawfordsville, Dewitt, Harrison, Jericho, Marianna and Morrilton. Columbia, Dallas, Hempstead, Lonoke, Saline and Woodruff counties also received the grants.

Copyright 2013 KAIT. All rights reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.