Nelvis, Chavez set records as A-State opens Indoor Track & Field

JONESBORO, AR (ASU) — The Arkansas State indoor track and field team opened up its season Sunday afternoon by claiming 15 first-place finishes in the ASU Kickoff Klassic at the Convocation Center.  Sharika Nelvis set school, Kickoff Klassic, and Convocation Center records in the women's 55-meter dash while Richard Chavez set an A-State record in the men's shot put.

In the women's 55-meter dash, Nelvis broke her own school, Kickoff Klassic, and Convocation Center records with a time of 6.78, which bested her 6.86 mark from last season.  Nelvis wasn't finished there as she also claimed the women's 55-meter hurdles title with a time of 7.79.  A-State's Emenderlyn Iwuji finished second to Nelvis in the hurdles with a time of 8.12 and Shalynn Cyprien earned a fifth place finish by recording a mark of 8.40.

Chavez set the school record with a throw of 20.06m in the men's shot put, while teammates Chris Nicasio (15.84m), Brandon Lombardino (15.72m), and Tyler Lingo (15.71m) rounded out the top four in the event.  Chavez also finished second in the men's weight throw with a toss of 18.11m, while Nicasio claimed the top spot with a throw of 18.50m.  Lingo finished third with a throw of 15.85m and Lombardino was fourth with a distance of 14.86m.

"We were real pleased with this meet and we always want to use this meet as a gauge for how well we've done with our fall training," A-State head coach Jim Patchell said.  "We wound up having two national qualifiers with Sharika and Richie.  We also had several personal records and several race wins so it was a good meet for us."

A-State's Erika Christian narrowly claimed the 400-meter dash title with a time of 58.78 and teammate Sabrina Antimo finished fifth in the women's 200-meter dash with a time of 26.21.  The A-State women's 4x400-meter relay team of Antimo, Shakeria Marshall, Christian, and Charlotte Williams claimed a first-place finish with a time of 3:59.76.

Arkansas State claimed the top two spots in the women's one mile run with Heather Newberry passing teammate Brianne Murphy on the last lap to record a time of 5:26.13 for the win, while Murphy's time of 5:28.03 was good for second.

The Red Wolves dominated the women's 3000-meter run by earning the top four spots in the event.  Rexi Parcells won the event with a time of 10:06.69, while Tilda Helgesson finished second with a time of 10:17.25.  Abbey Dixon (10:30.58) and Bailey Sisson-Eller (10:52.42) finished in third and fourth place respectively.

In the women's distance medley, the Arkansas State "A" team of Parcells, Kristi Houck, Murphy, and Lindsay Mills finished in first place with a time of 13:10.10.  The A-State "C" team of Dixon, Heather Hammett, Ashleigh Price, and Sisson-Eller took second with a time of 13:13.43 and the Red Wolves' "B" team of Helgesson, Zoie Wilson, Newberry, and Chelsey Roberson were third with a mark of 13:26.58.

Iwuji claimed the women's long jump title with a distance of 5.70m while Jermeka Marks (5.52m) and Jasmine Marks (5.28m) claimed second and fourth place respectively.  Iwuji also took home the women's triple jump title with a mark of 11.62m and Jasmine Marks finished third with a distance of 11.06m.  Savannah Hutchinson earned third place in the women's high jump with a mark of 1.55m and she was followed by Macey Rodely (1.50m) in fourth place.

Erin Farmer claimed another title for the Red Wolves in the women's weight throw with a toss of 14.29m and Kiarra Simpson took fourth-place honors with a distance of 13.40m.  Farmer also finished in fourth place in the women's shot put with a throw of 11.84m.

A-State claimed the top two spots in the men's 55-meter hurdles with Billy Ellis winning the event with a time of 7.67 and Jamil Peeples taking second with a time of 7.74.  Jamal Jones finished fourth in the men's 55-meter dash with a run of 6.41 while Justin Whitfield claimed third place in the men's 400-meter dash with a time of 49.45.

In the men's 4x400-meter relay, the A-State squad of Ellis, Whitfield, Clint Ligon, and Shane Lopez finished fourth with a time of 3:31.00.

Devin Noel recorded a fourth-place finish for A-State in the men's 600-meter run with a time of 1:22.48, while Lopez (2:00.31), Denton Postlewait (2:00.73), and Andre Walker (2:01.87) finished second, third, and fourth in the men's 800-meter run respectively.

A-State's Wil Norris earned the men's 5000-meter run title with a time of 15:28.58, while teammates Luke Lindsley (16:06.80) and David Mills (16:19.36) claimed third and fifth places finishes in the event.  Ryan Pett registered a fourth-place finish in the men's one mile run with a time of 4:31.44 and teammate Kyle Somerville finished fifth in the event with a time of 4:33.68.

The Red Wolves "B" team of Zach VanGundy, Walker, Rhett Raibley, and Jesse Duvall finished second in the men's distance medley with a time of 11:16.21.  The Arkansas State "A" team of Somerville, Postlewait, Tyler Davis, and Brock Westerman took third in the event with a time of 11:34.09 and the A-State "C" team of Pett, Tahshon Reese, Taylor Bazo, and Mark Talarico claimed fourth place with a time of 11:44.38.

A-State's Kashef Daniel won the men's high jump by clearing 2.03m and Ligon took third place in the event by jumping 1.88m.  Shane Heathcock finished third in the men's pole vault with a mark of 5.00m.

The Red Wolves return to action Jan. 17-18 at the Kentucky Invitational in Lexington, Ky.