Missouri's Molly Kreklow named SEC Volleyball Player of the Year, Wayne Kreklow tabbed as Coach of the Year

From the Southeastern Conference

The Southeastern Conference announced its 2013 Volleyball Posteason Awards and the University of Missouri's Molly Kreklow was named SEC Player of the Year. The University of Florida's Taylor Unroe was named Libero of the Year and Missouri's Carly Kan was selected as Freshman of the Year. Auburn's Camila Jersonsky garnered Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors while Mizzou's Wayne Kreklow was tabbed as Coach of the Year.

Molly Kreklow became the first Missouri Tiger to earn SEC Player of the Year honors. She finished the regular season with a nation's best 12.65 assists per set and helped lead Mizzou to its first SEC title. Kreklow guided a Tiger offense that ranks first in the nation in hitting (.362), kills per set (15.30) and assists per set (14.55). A preseason all-conference nominee, Kreklow was named SEC and AVCA National Player of the Week on October 20 for her efforts against Florida and Georgia.

                Unroe garnered Libero of the Year honors after leading the SEC with 0.43 aces per set in conference play. She delivered match-winning aces for Florida in three of UF's last seven outings and is a two-time SEC Defensive Player of the Week honoree. The Gators are 16th in the nation in aces per set (1.65) and hold their opponents to an SEC-best .167 hitting clip in league play.  This is the first Libero of the Year honor for the Gators and their second Defensive Player of the Year award overall.

                Missouri's Kan claimed Freshman of the Year honors as the league's top rookie. She has eight double-doubles on the season and ranks in the league's top-10 in hitting percentage (.360) and aces per set (0.31). Kan is the only player in the SEC to average more than 3.00 kills and 3.00 digs per set in conference play. She is the first Tiger to earn SEC Freshman of the Year honors.

Jersonsky, the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, has a 3.86 GPA as a double major in Electrical Engineering and Polymer & Fiber Engineering. She was named to the 2013 CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-District Team and is a three-time SEC Academic Honor Roll selection. Jersonsky is Auburn's all-time leader in career hitting percentage (.354) and is the first AU player to earn SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors since Rachel Shanks in 2007.

                Kreklow claimed his first SEC Coach of the Year honor after guiding Mizzou to a nation's best 34-0 record, the most conference wins in school history and the program's first-ever SEC championship. The Tigers join Colorado State as the only unbeaten teams in the nation this season and are 4-0 vs. AVCA top-25 teams. Missouri is No. 5 in the current NCAA RPI rankings and earned the SEC's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

The All-SEC and All-Freshman Teams were also announced. The All-SEC Team is an 18-member team voted on by the league's head coaches while the freshman team consists of seven members. No ties are broken. All-SEC selections were led by Missouri and Florida with four members each.

Player of the Year: Molly Kreklow, Missouri

Libero of the Year: Taylor Unroe, Florida

Freshman of the Year: Carly Kan, Missouri

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Camila Jersonsky, Auburn

Coach of the Year: Wayne Kreklow, Missouri

All-SEC Team

Krystal Rivers, Alabama

Meredith Hays, Arkansas

Camila Jersonsky, Auburn

Alex Holston, Florida

Chloe Mann, Florida

Živa Recek, Florida

Taylor Unroe, Florida

Brittany Northcutt, Georgia

Whitney Billings, Kentucky

Alexandra Morgan, Kentucky

Briana Holman, LSU

Lisa Henning, Missouri

Carly Kan, Missouri

Molly Kreklow, Missouri

Whitney Little, Missouri

Juliette Thévenin, South Carolina

Allie Sawatzky, Texas  A&M

Shelby Sullivan, Texas A&M

All-Freshman Team

Krystal Rivers, Alabama

Alex Holston, Florida

Anni Thomasson, Kentucky

Briana Holman, LSU

Kimmy Gardiner, Mississippi State

Carly Kan, Missouri

Jazzmin Babers, Texas A&M