Travis Swanson is a finalist for the Rimington Trophy

FAYETTEVILLE ( - Senior center Travis Swanson has been named one of six finalists for the Rimington Trophy, it was announced Monday.

This season, Swanson led an offensive line that blocked as Alex Collins became just the 10th true freshman in SEC history to rush for 1,000 yards and Collins and Jonathan Williams became the second Razorback duo to each reach at least 900 rushing yards in one season. The offensive line, which featured two true freshmen starting the final eight games, also broke the single-season school record by only allowing 8.0 sacks. Arkansas leads the SEC and is tied for second in the NCAA with an average of 0.67 sacks allowed per game. The Razorbacks' average of one sack allowed for every 37.63 pass attempts is the best in the conference and seventh in the nation.

Swanson was named a third-team Midseason All-American and first-team Midseason All-SEC performer by Phil Steele. The Kingwood, Texas, native also has accepted an invitation to the 2014 Senior Bowl and will participate in the nation's top showcase of senior talent for NFL evaluators with a week of practices leading up to the Jan. 25 game in Mobile, Ala.

Swanson started all 50 games of his career, becoming the first Razorback with 50 straight starts and just the second to start 50 total games, and became the 11th two-time team captain in program history. He blocked for three seasons with a 3,000-yard passer and two seasons with a 1,000-yard rusher, including the only season in school history with a 3,000-yard passer and a 1,000-yard rusher in 2010.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding center in FBS by determining the consensus All-American from the Walter Camp Foundation, The Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America All-American teams. Jonathan Luigs was the first Razorback to win the award, named after the only two-time Outland Trophy winner Dave Rimington, in 2007. This year's winner will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday. The winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation Banquet at Rocco Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 11, 2014.

For more information on Arkansas football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.