Twelve Red Wolves selected to 2013 All-Sun Belt Football Team

NEW ORLEANS ( – After leading the nation for a second-consecutive season in all-purpose yardage, WKU senior running back Antonio Andrews was named the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year on Wednesday as the conference announced the 2013 All-Sun Belt Conference football teams.
The selections were made by a vote of the league head coaches and selected members of the media.
Andrews led all of Division I FBS in all-purpose yards and led the Sun Belt in rushing yards. He broke his own single-season school record for rushing yards with 1,730 yards, adding a conference-best 16 touchdowns. The senior from Fort Campbell, Ky., was named a semifinalist, the only semifinalist from a Non-Automatic Qualifier conference, for the Doak Walker Award given to the nation's top running back.
Andrews finished the season with the country's longest active streak of 100+ yard all-purpose games (25), second longest 100-yard rushing game streak (11) and set school records for 100-yard rushing games in a season (11) and career (21). In total, Andrews set six school records in 2013 and was the only running back in the league to rush for over 200 yards in a game, doing it twice against Morgan State (213) and Texas State (204).
Andrews' classmate, WKU senior linebacker Xavius Boyd earned the Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Year award after leading the conference in tackles for loss (15.5) and sacks (8.5). He led the Hilltoppers in total tackles with 103 and was one of four defensive players in the conference to eclipse 100 tackles this season. Boyd posted multiple tackles for loss in five games this season with multiple sacks in three.
Boyd was also a three-time Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Week, winning the honor in three consecutive weeks. The St. Petersburg, Fla., native became the only player in conference history to win the same award three weeks in a row. It marks a second-straight season a WKU player won the Defensive Player of the Year award after Quanterus Smith earned the honor in 2012.
UL-Lafayette running back Elijah McGuire broke out in 2013 with 89 rushes for 805 yards and seven touchdowns en route to earning the Freshman of the Year award. The Houma, La., native ranks fifth nationally among freshmen running backs with 805 rushing yards and is second nationally among all players with a 9.0 yards per carry average. He is fourth in the conference in both rushing (73.2) and all-purpose yards (101.8) per game in Sun Belt Conference contests.
McGuire has also caught 13 passes for 269 yards and three touchdowns this year. He is one of four players in the country to rush for 100 yards and gain 100 receiving yards in the same game, catching three passes for 125 yards and 2 touchdowns and rushing for 107 yards on 11 carries at Georgia State.
South Alabama head coach Joey Jones earned the Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year award after he led the Jaguars to their first bowl-eligible season in school history. In closing out his fifth season at the helm, and the first for USA competing at the NCAA FBS level, the Jaguars won their final three games of the season to even their record at 6-6 on the year. The Jaguars led the Sun Belt in sacks with 38 and were second in the conference in scoring defense (25.2 points per game) and total defense (384.2 yards per game) this season.
With 12 total honorees, the Arkansas State Red Wolves led the conference in All-Conference award winners. Arkansas State had five First Team and seven Second Team selections. The Red Wolves (7-5, 5-2) accepted an invitation to play Mid-American Conference opponent Ball State (10-2, 7-1) in the 15th annual GoDaddy Bowl game on Sun., Jan. 5, 2014, at Ladd-Peebles Stadium. The game will be televised nationally at 8:00 p.m. on ESPN.
For the third consecutive season, the Ragin' Cajuns will play in the R+L Carries New Orleans Bowl on Sat., Dec. 21 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome against local New Orleans opponent Tulane. The game will be televised nationally at 8 p.m. on ESPN. The Sun Belt Conference has sent a team to the R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl since the inaugural game in 2001. Teams from the Sun Belt Conference have combined to win the last four New Orleans Bowls – including the Cajuns' wins over San Diego State in 2011 and East Carolina in 2012. The 2012 contest between UL-Lafayette and ECU had a record-breaking crowd of 48,828.
2013 All-Sun Belt Conference Football Teams
As Voted on by the League Head Coaches and Media

Sun Belt Player of the Year
Antonio Andrews (WKU, Sr., RB)
Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Year
Antonio Andrews (WKU, Sr., RB)
Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Year
Xavius Boyd (WKU, Sr., LB)
Sun Belt Freshman of the Year
Elijah McGuire (UL-Lafayette, Fr., RB)
Sun Belt Coach of the Year
Joey Jones, South Alabama
First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Offense
Corey Robinson (Troy, Sr., QB)
Alonzo Harris (UL-Lafayette, Jr., RB)
Elijah McGuire (UL-Lafayette, Fr., RB)
Antonio Andrews (WKU, Sr., RB)
J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, So. WR)
Albert Wilson (Georgia State, Sr. WR)
Eric Thomas (Troy, Sr., WR)
Wes Saxton (South Alabama, Jr., TE)
Andre Huval (UL-Lafayette,Sr., OL)
Josh Allen (UL-Monroe, Sr., OL)
Chris May (South Alabama, So., OL)
Terrence Jones (Troy, Jr., OL)
Luis Polanco (WKU, Sr., OL)
Frist Team All-Sun Belt Conference Defense
Ryan Carrethers (Arkansas State, Sr., DL)
Romelle Jones (South Alabama, Sr., DL)
Alex Page (South Alabama, Senior, DL)
Bar'ee Boyd (WKU, Sr., DL)
Qushaun Lee (Arkansas State, Jr., LB)
Justin Anderson (UL-Lafayette, Sr., LB)
Xavius Boyd (WKU, Sr., LB)
Isaiah Newsome (UL-Monroe, Sr., DB)
Camren Hudson (Troy, Sr., DB)
Jonathan Dowling (WKU, Jr., DB)
Cam Thomas (WKU, Jr., DB)
First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Special Teams
Brian Davis (Arkansas State, Sr., K)
Justin Manton (UL-Monroe, Jr., P)
Darryl Surgent (UL-Lafayette, Sr., Return Specialist)
J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, So. All-Purpose)
Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Offense
Ross Metheny (South Alabama, Sr., QB)
Michael Gordon (Arkansas State, So., RB)
Robert Lowe (Texas State, So., RB)
Jamal Robinson (UL-Lafayette, Jr. WR)
Rashon Ceaser (UL-Monroe, So.,WR)
Shavarez Smith (South Alabama, Jr., WR)
Darion Griswold (Arkansas State, So., TE)
Bryce Giddens (Arkansas State, So, OL)
Steven Haunga (Arkansas State, Sr., OL)
Daniel Quave (UL-Lafayette, Jr., OL)
Ucambre Williams (South Alabama, Jr., OL)
Evan McKissack (Troy, Sr., OL)
Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Defense
Justin Hamilton (UL-Lafayette, Jr., DL)
Gerrand Johnson (UL-Monroe, So., DL)
Antonio Gillespie (Troy, Sr. DL)
Tyler Roberts (Troy, So., DL)
Cameron Blakes (UL-Monroe, Sr., LB)
Enrique Williams (South Alabama, Sr., LB)
Andrew Jackson (WKU, Sr., LB)
Rocky Hayes (Arkansas State, So., DB)
Sterling Young (Arkansas State, Jr., DB)
Trevence Patt (UL-Lafayette, Jr., DB)
Justin Iwuji (Texas State, Sr., DB)
Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Special Teams
Will Scott (Troy, Sr., K)
Will Scott (Troy, Sr., P)
J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, So. Return Specialist)
Albert Wilson (Georgia State, Sr. All-Purpose)
Honorable Mention All-Sun Belt Conference
Adam Kennedy (Arkansas State, Sr., QB)

Chris Stone (Arkansas State, So., DL)

Ulrick John (Georgia State, Sr., OL)

Joseph Peterson (Georgia State, So., LB)

Jacob Maxwell (UL-Lafayette, Sr., TE)

Dominique Tovell (UL-Lafayette, So., LB)

Kolton Browning (UL-Monroe, Sr., QB)

Centarius Donald (UL-Monroe, Jr., RB)

Jay Jones (South Alabama, Jr., RB)

Aleem Sunanon (South Alabama, r-Fr., K)

David Mayo (Texas State, Jr., LB)

Mike Orakpo (Texas State, Jr., LB)

Jordan Chunn (Troy, Fr., RB)

Bryan Holmes (Troy, So., WR)

Willie McNeal (WKU, Jr., WR)

Forrest Lamp (WKU, r-Fr., OL)