Ryan Carrethers named ASU MVP by Little Rock Touchdown Club

LITTLE ROCK (LRTouchdown.com) - Rimington Award finalist and senior University of Arkansas All-SEC center Travis Swanson and Razorback junior defensive end Trey Flowers have been named the recipients of the inaugural Dan Hampton and Willie Roaf Awards for the most outstanding college offensive and defensive linemen in the state of Arkansas.

El Dorado High School senior defensive tackle Bijhon Jackson and Springdale Har-Ber High School senior offensive tackle Issac Johnson are the recipients of the awards at the high school level.

Those four honorees will join 26 other players and coaches from Arkansas high schools and colleges in being honored by the Little Rock Touchdown Club. The club's annual awards banquet will be held at Little Rock's Embassy Suites Hotel at 7 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 13.

ESPN analyst and former Arkansas head coach Lou Holtz will be the keynote speaker at the event.

Specials guests will include former Dallas Cowboy and Ouachita Baptist University great Cliff Harris, who will present the inaugural Cliff Harris Award to cornerback Pierre Desir of Lindenwood College, and Pro Football Hall of Fame offensive lineman Willie Roaf of Pine Bluff, who will present the Roaf Awards.

Most valuable players from each Arkansas college football program will be honored in addition to a player of the year and a coach of the year from each high school classification.

The Paul Eells Award, which is awarded each year to the Razorback player who best exhibits perseverance and determination in the face of adversity, will go to senior fullback Kiero Small.

The Hampton Award and Roaf Award recipients were selected by members of the sports media in Arkansas along with the namesakes of the awards. The Hampton Awards and Roaf Awards are sponsored by Wendy's.

"It's outstanding that Dan and Willie both took the time to look at video of top nominees in order to determine finalists and winners," said Touchdown Club president David Bazzel

The Harris Award goes to the top small college defensive player in the country. Almost 500 colleges and universities at the NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA levels are eligible to nominate players for the award. A selection committee of former Cowboy players led by Harris selected 49 finalists and the winner.

The presenting sponsor for the Harris Award is Wright Lindsey & Jennings LLP. For more information, go to www.CliffHarrisAward.com.

The Feb. 13 awards banquet is sponsored by Wright Lindsey & Jennings LLP, Wendy's, Metropolitan National Bank, the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette and Crain Automotive.

Tickets are $50 for general admission and $100 for reserved seating. For more information, go to www.LRTouchdown.com.


Cliff Harris Award Winner - Pierre Desir, DB, Lindenwood

Dan Hampton Award
  COLLEGE WINNER - Trey Flowers, DE, Jr, Arkansas
              Ryan Carrethers, NG, Sr., ASU
              Trey Flowers, DE, Jr., Arkansas
              Chris Smith, DE, Sr., Arkansas
  HIGH SCHOOL WINNER - Bijhon Jackson, DT, El Dorado
               Josh Frazier, DT, Sr., Springdale Har-Ber
               Jarvis Cooper, DE, Sr., West Memphis
               Bijhon Jackson, DT, El Dorado

Willie Roaf Award
  COLLEGE WINNER - Travis Swanson, C, Sr, Arkansas
                Dominque Allen, T, Sr, UCA
                Steven Haunga, G, Sr, Arkansas State
                Travis Swanson, C, Sr, Arkansas

HIGH SCHOOL WINNER - Issac Johnson, T, Sr. Springdale Har-Ber
               Jhamahl Bell, T, Sr., Warren
               Issac johnson, T, Sr. Springdale Har-Ber
               Curtis Parker, G, Sr. North Little Rock
Paul Eells Award - Kiero Small, FB, Sr

College MVPs

Arkansas - Trey Flowers, DE, Jr
  Arkansas State - Ryan Carrethers, NG, Sr
  UCA - Justin Heard, LB, Sr
  UAPB - Jer-ryan Harris, LB
  Henderson State - Kevin Rodgers, QB, Jr
  Ouachita Baptist - Chris Rycraw, RB
  Harding University - Daniel Riley, DE, Sr
  Southern Arkansas - Tyler Sykora, QB, Sr
  Arkansas Monticello - Jamie McGee, K, Fr
  Arkansas Tech - Deandre' Bonner, DB, Sr
  Hendrix - Dayton Winn, RB, Fr
  Arkansas Baptist - Tyrone Carter, WR, So

High School Honorees

Class 7A Coach - Barry Lunney Sr., Bentonville
  Class 7A Player - K.J. Hill, WR, North Little Rock

Class 6A Coach - Scott Reed, El Dorado
  Class 6A Player - Kevin Jones, WR/PK, Greenwood

Class 5A Coach - Cody McNabb, Morrilton
  Class 5A Player - Toney Hawkins, QB, Morrilton

Class 4A Coach - Scott Hyatt, Booneville
  Class 4A Player - Joshua Liddell, QB/S, Pine Bluff Dollarway

Class 3A Coach - Greg Kendrick, Charleston
  Class 3A Player - Ty Storey, QB, Charleston

Class 2A Coach - David Carpenter, Junction City
  Class 2A Player - Jaqwis Dancy, Junction City