Arkansas State's Steven Haunga wins Gary Withrow Award - KAIT Jonesboro, AR - Region 8 News, weather, sports

Arkansas State's Steven Haunga wins Gary Withrow Award


From Arkansas State University

Selected by the Arkansas State football coaching staff and players, senior Steven Haunga (Richmond, Calif.) has been named the recipient of the 2013 Gary Withrow Award that is given annually to the Red Wolves' outstanding offensive lineman of the year.
Haunga, a 2013 second team All-Sun Belt Conference selection at offensive guard, will receive an individual crystal trophy in honor of being named the most recent Withrow Award winner.  His name will also be inscribed on the Gary Withrow Award plaque that resides in the offensive linemen meeting room.
The individual award will be presented during the A-State versus Louisiana-Lafayette men's basketball game on Saturday, March 8th, at 7:05 p.m. at the Convocation Center. All former players are encouraged to be present for this event to present the trophy. The award was created by the Old Warriors Foundation, which consists of former Arkansas State University football players from past years.
Withrow coached A-State offensive linemen for 17 years. His pupils include former NFL players Ken Jones (Buffalo Bills) and Ray Brown (San Francisco, St. Louis, Washington Redskins, Detroit Lions), who concluded his 20-year NFL career with the  Redskins and is now the assistant offensive line coach for the Carolina Panthers.
"Coach Withrow had a tough love relationship with his players," said Tommy Walker (former A-State player and president of the Old Warriors Foundation), who played under Withrow's direction in the early 1980s. "He demanded the best out of all of his players, which meant his players giving their best at all times. If he didn't feel like you were giving 110 percent, you would be replaced in the lineup."
Withrow's motto was "you're tougher, ‘cause you live tougher".
Winners of the Gary Withrow Award
2003 - Kimani Jones
2004 - Steven Gibbs
2005 - Tanner Jenkins
2006 - Tanner Jenkins
2007 - Matt Mandich
2008 - Matt Mandich
2009 - Derek Newton
2010 - Sifa Etu
2011 - Tom Castilaw
2012 - Zack McKnight
2013 - Steven Haunga 


Powered by Frankly