Three NEA coaches will lead East All-Star Teams

CONWAY ( – The president of the Arkansas High School Coaches Association, Calvin Mallett of Yellville-Summit, announced the names of the head coaches and staffs for the 2014 Arkansas High School Coaches Association All-Star Football and Volleyball Games along with the staffs of the Cheer and Dance squads at a news conference today at Bear Hall here on the University of Central Arkansas campus.

UCA athletic director Dr. Brad Teague welcomed the members of the AHSCA, the 2014 All-Star coaches and media representatives during the morning press conference.

This summer's game will mark the 59th year of All-Star competition for football and basketball.

Head coach for the East Football squad is Tom Sears of Hoxie. Coach Sears will be assisted by John Fogleman of Little Rock Catholic, Steve Hampton of Nettleton, Benji Mahan of Mountain Home, Gary Moody of Gosnell, Dustin Prescott of Des Arc and Jeremy Parmer of Hoxie.

Head coach for the West Football squad is Cody McNabb of Morrilton. Coach McNabb will be assisted by Perry Escalante of Rogers Heritage, Scott Hyatt of Booneville, Greg Kendrick of Charleston, Scott Neathery of Benton, Mark Taylor of Hector and Zach Watson of Morrilton.

The 2014 All-Star Football game will be held on Friday, June 27, at Estes Stadium on the UCA campus. Kick off is set for 7:00 p.m.

Head coach for the East Volleyball squad is Angie Donner of Paragould. Coach Donner will be assisted by Tracey Brown of Atkins, Lindsey Leonard of Mountain Home and Julie Tubbs of Jonesboro Westside.

Head coach for the West Volleyball squad is Brad Lyle of Mena. Coach Lyle will be assisted by Leigh Ann Back of Jessieville, Candi Bailey of Magnolia and Brandy Chumley of Benton.

The 2014 All-Star Volleyball game will be held on Wednesday, June 25 at the Farris Center on the UCA campus starting at 7:00 p.m.

Cassie DeSpain of Greene County Tech will serve as the head coach of the East All-Star Cheer squad. Coach DeSpain will be assisted by Carrie Taliaferro of Greenwood.

Susan Renfrow of Nashville will serve as the head coach of the West All-Star Cheer squad. Coach Renfrow will be assisted by Melissa Meyers of Pea Ridge.

Leslie Doss of Cabot will serve as the head coach of the East All-Star Dance squad. Coach Doss will be assisted by Kris Reed of Russellville.

Jeannie Wilson of Rogers Heritage will serve as the head coach of the West All-Star Dane squad. Coach Wilson will be assisted by Chelsea Massey of Bauxite.

The Arkansas High School Coaches Association Clinic will be held June 25-27, 2014, at UCA. Several Arkansas High School coaches and college coaches will be featured speakers during the week.


East                                                                       West

Tom Sears, Hoxie (head coach)                          Cody McNabb, Morrilton (head coach)

John Fogleman, Little Rock Catholic                       Perry Escalante, Rogers Heritage

Steven Hampton, Nettleton                                 Scott Hyatt, Booneville

Benji Mahan, Mountain Home                              Greg Kendrick, Charleston

Gary Moody, Gosnell                                            Scott Neathery, Benton

Dustin Prescott, Des Arc                                        Mark Taylor, Hector

Jeremy Parmer, Hoxie                                         Zach Watson, Morrilton


East                                                                       West

Angie Donner, Paragould (head coach)              Brad Lyle, Mena (head coach)

Tracey Brown, Atkins                                             Leigh Ann Back, Jessieville

Lindsey Leonard, Mountain Home                       Candi Bailey, Magnolia

Julie Tubbs, Jonesboro Westside                        Brandy Chumley, Benton


East                                                                       West

Cassie DeSpain, GCT (head coach)                     Susan Renfrow, Nashville (head coach)

Carrie Taliaferro, Greenwood                                 Melissa Meyers, Pea Ridge


East                                                                       West

Leslie Doss, Cabot (head coach)                           Jeannie Wilson, Rogers Heritage (head coach)

Kris Reed, Russellville                                            Chelsea Massey, Bauxite