Lyon's Jordan Layrock will compete in NAIA Dunk Contest

KANSAS CITY, Mo. ( - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the fan-vote winner of the NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball Slam Dunk Contest, presented by Rawlings. Jordan Layrock of Lyon (Ark.) will participate in the contest as he earned the most fan votes. As a part of the Slam Dunk Contest on March 22, fans had the opportunity to vote in one player by way of the PlayNAIA Facebook page. Layrock will compete against three other dunkers, who will be announced on Tuesday.

"I just want to thank everyone for voting for me," said Layrock. "I am pretty excited to not only compete, but represent my institution."

When asked about a signature dunk he is going to perform at the Dunk Contest, Layrock responded by saying "I got one (dunk) planned, but people will just have to wait and see. I hope that it will get some people out of their seats."

Potential contestants were nominated by Division I and Division II Head Basketball Coaches and then the All-Star Selection Committee narrowed the nominees down to four for the online voting.  Fans could vote up to once daily. The contest ended at 12 p.m. CDT on March 10.

Layrock beat out (in order of most votes received) Will Nelson of LSU-Shreveport (La.), Donte Jones of Texas Wesleyan and Alex Lubsey of Bluefield (Va.) to become the final dunker in the contest. The other three dunkers competing with Layrock, along with the four contestants in the 3-Point Contest and the Division I All-Star Team, will be announced on Tuesday.

This inaugural event will take place on Saturday, March 22 at 12:30 p.m. CDT at Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Mo., in conjunction with the 77th annual Buffalo Funds-NAIA Division I Men's Basketball National Championship. For tickets to all of the All-Star activities, go to Tickets can be purchased for as low as $3 per person for each game. Paid admission will cover the All-Star Game, 3-Point and Slam Dunk contests and all four Quarterfinal games on March 22.

The Slam Dunk Contest and 3-Point Contest will occur at approximately 12:30 p.m. CDT. Each contest will feature four contestants overall. The 3-Point competitors and Dunkers can come from either division or may or may not be part of the All-Star game. The All-Star Game will take place at 8:30 p.m. CDT.

For more All-Star Event information, click here.

List of four Dunkers in order of fan votes:
1. Jordan Layrock, Lyon (Ark.) *
2.  Will Nelson, LSU Shreveport (La.)
3. Donte Jones, Texas Wesleyan
4. Alex Lubsey, Bluefield (Va.)
• *Fan-Vote Winner

All-Star Event Schedule -- Saturday, March 22, 2014 (All Times CST)
10:30 a.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 1
12:30 p.m. -- NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball 3-Point and Slam Dunk Contest, presented by Rawlings
2 p.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 2
4 p.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 3
6 p.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 4
8 p.m. -- NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball All-Star Game, presented by US Bank