Arkansas schools granted waivers for missed snow days - KAIT Jonesboro, AR - Region 8 News, weather, sports

Arkansas schools granted waivers for missed snow days

LITTLE ROCK/TRUMANN, AR  (KAIT) – The Arkansas Board of Education approved inclement weather waivers for 75 school districts Thursday at its monthly meeting. The waivers shorten the required 178 days of classroom instruction.

Schools across the state had to cancel classes for several days after recent repeated bouts of severe winter weather. District administrators asked the board to issue the waivers so they would not have not to extend classes into mid-June.

The 1,605 Trumann Public Schools students missed 12 days due to severe weather.

"The inclement weather waiver will allow you to mark off or waive any days that you missed over 10," said TPS Superintendent Myra Graham.

"So that would be eligibility for two days to be stricken from our required 178 days for students."

There was certain criteria districts had to meet in order to be eligible for the waiver.  

"The state department's criteria asks you to attend some or all of spring break," she said.

Spring break for Arkansas students is March 24-28. Trumann students will attend school March 24 and 25.

"One other piece of the criteria is that we would use all available days like Good Friday."

TPS students will attend school Good Friday. The last day of school for Trumann students is June 4. Without the waiver it would have been June 6. 

Before the severe winter weather came, Trumann students' last day of school was May 23.

"We're going to be incredibly flexible with our staff that have bought maybe cruise tickets or airlines tickets. We want to be as cooperative as possible as we alter our community's plans, our students' plans, and our staff," said Supt. Graham.

37 of the 75 districts were in the Region 8 viewing area.

Communications Officer Kimberly Friedman posted on the Arkansas Department of Education's Facebook page shortly before 11:00 Thursday morning.

The schools approved waivers in Region 8 are:

Batesville School District

Calico Rock School District

Cave City School District

Cedar Ridge School District

Concord School District

Corning School District

Cotter School District

Greene County Tech School District

Harrisburg School District

Highland School District

Hillcrest School District

Hoxie School District

Imboden Area Charter School District

Izard County Consolidated School District

Jackson County School District

Jonesboro School District

Lawrence County School District

Mammoth Spring School District

Marmaduke School District

Maynard School District

Melbourne School District

Midland School District

Mountain Home School District

Mountain View School District

Norfork School District

Pangburn School District

Paragould School District

Piggott School District

Pocahontas School District

Rector School District

Salem School District

Sloan Hendrix School District

Southside Batesville School District

Trumann School District

Viola School District

Westside Consolidated School District


Copyright 2014 KAIT. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly