Childers & Jackson are NAIA Honorable Mention All-Americans

KANSAS CITY, Mo. ( National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2013-14 NAIA Division I Women's The Basketball All-America teams Wednesday. Players were selected by the NAIA-Women's Basketball Coaches' Association All-America Committee, with each team—first, second and third—consisting of 11 members.

Vanguard (Calif.) senior point guard Nicole Ballestero, an Orange, Calif., native, was selected as the 2014 NAIA National Player of the Year. Ballestero is the fifth Lion to earn the honor since the award's inception in 1998, the most of any program.

Ballestero, who was a First Team All-American last season, ranked among the top 15 nationally in points per game (2nd, 22.97), free throw percentage (7th, .843), total scoring (7th, 666 points), 3-point field goal percentage (9th, .438), 3-point field goals made per game (10th, 2.79), total 3-point field goals made (13th, 81) and assist to turnover ratio (14th, 2.30).

Oklahoma City head coach Latricia Trammell was named the NAIA Division I Women's Basketball Coach of the Year after guiding the Stars to their NAIA-best seventh national championship with an 80-76 win over Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) Tuesday. In two years at the helm of Oklahoma City, Trammell has accumulated a 55-9 record (27-4 in 2013-14) and has guided her team to back-to-back national championship quarterfinals. The Stars are also two-time defending Sooner Athletic Conference regular-season champions under Trammell. As a team, Oklahoma City finished the season ranked in the top 15 in 12 statistical categories.

Four programs placed multiple players among the three teams: Vanguard and national runner-up Freed-Hardeman each had two First Team All-Americans, while Westmont (Calif.) and Georgetown (Ky.) each had one First Team and one Second Team All-American.

National Champion Oklahoma City had just one All-American, Yvonte Neal, who was named to the second team. The Stars also had two All-America Honorable Mention players: Kayla MacKenzie and Autumn Lau.

There were six repeat selections from last year's All-America teams.

First Team  
Hayley Newby Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)
Grace Alonso de Armino Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)
Andrea Howard Georgetown (Ky.)
Deonica McCormick Mobile (Ala.)
Alannah Sheets Shawnee State (Ohio)
Jacquelyn Marshall * The Master's (Calif.)
Nicole Ballestero ^% Vanguard (Calif.)
Taylor Belmont Vanguard Calif.)
Alli Blake Westminster (Utah)
Kelsie Sampson Westmont (Calif.)
Second Team  
Adijat Adams & Biola (Calif.)
Heather English * Columbia (Mo.)
Kourtney Tyra * Georgetown (Ky.)
Andrina Rendon Hope International (Calif.)
Lynette Holmes Langston (Okla.)
Jalissa Council Oklahoma Baptist
Yvonte Neal Oklahoma City
Sarah Ogoke & Southern Poly (Ga.)
Angeleigh Davis Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Esther Lee Westmont (Calif.)
Third Team  
Brianna Garza Baker (Kan.)
Ariel Wilson Belhaven (Miss.)
Daizah Kimberland Campbellsville (Ky.)
Brooke Forsythe Cumberlands (Ky.)
Sierra Shipley John Brown (Ark.)
Tanis Fuller Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Shelby Kohrmann Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)
Kelsey Balcom* MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Portia Craft Tougaloo (Miss.)
Danisha Shaw Wiley (Texas)
Honorable Mention  
Michaela Brinkley Avila (Mo.)
Chayla Rutledge Benedictine (Kan.)
Tayla Foster Bethel (Tenn.)
Heather Thompson Cal State-San Marcos (Calif.)
Ellen Sholtes Campbellsville (Ky.)
Morgan Vetter Central Methodist (Mo.)
Olivia Melvin Coastal Georgia
Janairrika Bland Columbia (Mo.)
Allison Swanson Evangel (Mo.)
Christina Hayes Faulkner (Ala.)
Taleeah Cross Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)
Jerrica Smith Graceland (Iowa)
Erin Legel Great Falls (Mont.)
Lindsey Abramson Great Falls (Mont.)
Ashleigh Hurd-Spencer Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.)
Brittany Bauman Hope International (Calif.)
Eliana Fernandez John Brown (Ark.)
Alexandria Adekunle Langston (Okla.)
Diamond Burt Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)
Janeicia Neely Loyola (La.)
Jasmine Brewer Loyola (La.)
Carina Jackson Lyon (Ark.)
Ashlee Ferguson Mid-America Christian (Okla.)
Daria Sprew MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Gabi Morales Missouri Valley
A'jha Edwards Montana State-Northern
Travana Johnson Northern New Mexico
Charity Fowler Oklahoma Baptist
Autumn Lau Oklahoma City
Kayla MacKenzie Oklahoma City
Nashae Owens Our Lady of the Lake (Texas)
Channell Mackey Park (Mo.)
Callisha Johnson Pikeville (Ky.)
Brianna Thomas Rio Grande (Ohio)
Nia Winston SAGU (Texas)
Diane Abbady Shawnee State (Ohio)
Priscila Santos Shawnee State (Ohio)
Arnissa Galloway Southern Poly (Ga.)
Sabrina Scott Southern-New Orleans (La.)
Brandy Broome Southern-New Orleans (La.)
Jamie Robinson Talladega (Ala.)
Ryven Jackson Talladega (Ala.)
Zoe Scott The Master's (Calif.)
Chasity Kearney Tougaloo (Miss.)
Samantha Doucette Vanguard (Calif.)
Nia Nolan West Virginia Tech
Tia Pappas Westminster (Utah)
Katie Scherder William Woods (Mo.)
Cheyenne Childers Williams Baptist (Ark.)

^ 2013 First Team All-American
* 2013 Second Team All-American
& 2013 Third Team All-American
% 2014 Player of the Year