Anderson Named to Watch List for Golden Spikes Award

FAYETTEVILLE ( - Arkansas baseball junior Brian Anderson was one of 50 collegiate players named to the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Midseason Award Watch list announced on Thursday afternoon.

The award, which honors the nation's top amateur baseball player, will continue to be a "rolling" list until May 27 -- when the semifinalists for the award are announced -- ensuring that athletes can play themselves into consideration for the award.  The Golden Spikes Award trophy will be awarded live in Los Angeles on July 17.

Anderson has been the model of consistency in 2014, playing and starting in all 34 games at second base and hitting .336 with nine doubles, one triple and three home runs. He is riding a 10-game hitting streak into a three-game weekend series at LSU and leads the Razorbacks with 29 runs batted in.

A preseason All-American by Baseball America and Perfect Game, Anderson has lived up to the hype with 10 multi-hit games and a .423 on base percentage. He leads the Razorbacks in seven different offensive categories and ranks 11th in the SEC in total bases and 15th in doubles and hits.

USA Baseball officials will announce the 30-man watch list for the 2014 Golden Spikes Award on Thursday, May 8. USA Baseball will then release the semifinalists on Tuesday, May 27. The list of athletes will then be sent to a voting body consisting of Golden Spikes Award winners, past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel, and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2014.  Tuesday, May 27, marks the day when amateur baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist on  As part of this selection process all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of names.

Last year, University of San Diego infielder, Kris Bryant, took home the prestigious award, joining a group of recent winners that includes Mike Zunino (2012), Trevor Bauer (2011), Bryce Harper (2010), Stephen Strasburg (2009) and Buster Posey (2008).

Other past winners of the Golden Spikes Award include Terry Francona (1980), Will Clark (1985), Robin Ventura (1988), Jason Varitek (1994), J.D. Drew (1997), Mark Prior (2001), Jered Weaver (2004), Tim Lincecum (2006) and David Price (2007).

For more information on Arkansas baseball, follow @RazorbackBSB on Twitter.